Larian Studios

Demo bugs.

Posted By: Benjie

Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 03:07 AM

I get a heap of bugs. I thought I'd make a thread to post them in if you get any.

-Colours absolutely messed up in menu, title, and in the game. (there are some major pallette bugs)
-Takes ages for my character to change appearence by equiping a new weapon/changing appearence at character creation.
-Occasionally slows down for no reason.
-Occasionally Halts for for reason and temporarily.
-Takes forever for area transition (not sure if this is normal. It's a lot slower than Divine Divinity)

I'm running on...

Gforce 3 128mb (the high end one, can't remember exact name)
512 DDR ram
2ghz athalon
Hardisk w/ cache.
Desktop PC (not a laptop)
Posted By: Raze

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 04:17 AM

If you reset the configuration and run the test again, does that help with the palate problems?

Character appearance changes should be pretty much immediate, and entering tunnels, etc only takes a couple seconds on my system.
Posted By: LewsTherinKinslayer13

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 04:18 AM

-Colours absolutely messed up in menu, title, and in the game. (there are some major pallette bugs)



that just happens to me.


seems like a pink explosion in the menu.

how do i get to the recconfigure thingy Raze?
Posted By: Raze

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 04:47 AM

click on "Start | Programs | Larian Studios | Beyond Divinity Demo | Configuration", then click 'Reset', check options, click 'Test', then 'Apply & Close'.
Posted By: Jurak

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 05:01 AM

go to where you installed it and look for the configtool........

Make sure you don't forget to disable AV.... like i did! *overanxious i guess*

My mini-map is un-moveable and so are all the windows, is there a way to relocate the mini-map...


I'm a high-steppin white guy with a red mohawk, and a club!

the first guard already kicked my butt twice.....
and the first time, i forgot to make a save before venturing forward.... Duh!

i like it so far, a little jerky for my comp,
but that's mostly cuz i need a new vid card,
maybe cuz i'm playing on 1024x768....could that slow me down a bit? ?


Kiya.....good to see your silvery face again....
thanks for that majorly beautiful start dungeon screenshot....with labels too!

time .... music i like so far..... Kirill's the music-dude! better keep him around eh?

and for that other thread that asks if i'm buying it..... youbetcherass! i am!


sweet.......sweet..........sweet.......

Yet another Brilliant [nocando] job by the great hard-working team affectionately known as "Larian Studios" and all it's inhabitants!


Posted By: LewsTherinKinslayer13

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 05:06 AM

why dose armor hurt me?? is it suppousd to be heavy ??? and restrict movement???



Posted By: Raze

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 07:08 AM

"My mini-map is un-moveable"

No, it's not. Click on the edge of the mini-map (artwork). You can select a destination for your characters by clicking on the mini-map in cleared areas.


"the first guard already kicked my butt twice....."


Posted By: Jurak

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 07:14 AM

yes it's true....
but!! that was even before i learned how to bring the big-guy with me!

It's all good now!
thx for your concern RaZe!

Ummmmmm... something foul is afoot!
it seems i can't have and installed at the same time it seems to overwrite the configtool settings back and forth causing errors in modules {unknown} and page faults...so to check this i tried to start my game and caused illeagal operation....closing program.... oh dear what can the matter be....
Posted By: PinkyAndThaBrain

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 11:20 AM

Bug :

If you use whirlwind for the secondary attack, and press the right mouse button during the whirlwind animation then the second whirlwind attack will not use the correct animation (he will just stand there, apparently doing nothing).

Annoyances :

Select-all quick key needed ... hell I want a key for everything. AFAICS if I played the game for real I would soon have many magic spells, but without being able to activate them quickly that seems a bit useless. I have an entire keyboard, let me use it.

Voice actors ... well, could be worse. Dialog though could be better, some of the phrases reminds me of some of the bits of early TOEE dialog (although in the end I didnt think it was all that bad).

Pick up and move, still as freaky as in DD. Why cant the game move towards something on a click, but just do NOTHING if you try to drag what you are clicking on but are not close enough? (Or your cursor isnt above anything draggable.) Also since the keysetting-dialog suggests you can have more than 2 characters this kind of behaviour could be used for selecting multiple characters with a select box (I tried to do this quite a few times in the demo when I just started playing, just out of habit).

This kind of behaviour for mouse click/drag are standard isometric view interface "rules". Follow them unless you have a good reason not to, I dont see any such reason.

The demo is too short and too combat oriented (well at least I hope the game is less so). I always thought the DD demo was everything a game demo should be, the BD demo is such a regression.

In all it reminds be a bit of the Lionheart demo, apart from the fact it didnt come as a surprise to me there. At least this game has a usefull pause
Posted By: AgentJ

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 11:51 AM


Haha... Lionheart demo... all hack-n-slash.

Once you got past Act1 it was 80% hack-n-slash.
Posted By: Hunter

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 12:04 PM

Something I noticed :

Moving your characters in the view screen goes rather slowly. Moving your characters with the minimap and let your screen stay where it is goes a lot faster (less rendering to do I guess). It came in real handy at the end of the demo when I had to go back to the chest in the dungeon to open with the key I found in one of the spider cells.

A question about the quest with the thirsty prisoner : Why doesn't he accept any bottle of water except for one bottle in the kitchen (that isn't really different from the other bottles)

Something I couldn't reproduce : I pressed a button (somewhere arround the spacebar) and suddenly I was out of the game where you can save and load, only, the resume button wasn't highlighted anymore.... I had to load the game again...really strange.

April seems so far away...
Posted By: AgentJ

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 12:09 PM

Quote:

It came in real handy at the end of the demo when I had to go back to the chest in the dungeon to open with the key I found in one of the spider cells.




I put the chest in my inventory... or my Deathknights inventory...


Quote:


A question about the quest with the thirsty prisoner : Why doesn't he accept any bottle of water except for one bottle in the kitchen (that isn't really different from the other bottles)




Must have some type of code on that bottle, and it will only accept that code... kind of like certian keys for certian chests...


Quote:


Something I couldn't reproduce : I pressed a button (somewhere arround the spacebar) and suddenly I was out of the game where you can save and load, only, the resume button wasn't highlighted anymore.... I had to load the game again...really strange.




Was it the windows key?...

Quote:

April seems so far away...




Yes, it does
Posted By: SheaOhmsford

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 12:57 PM

BIG TIME Divinity fan! Started BD demo up(ANXIOUSLY!!), created character, saved, closed game. A few minutes later went to start game up again and at the load screen it says to insert play disc 3. Anyone else have this problem? Wonder if it has something to do with having DD loaded as other reply suggested.
Posted By: Konnar

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 02:30 PM

I had no problems whatsoever. Saving, loading, graphisms etc.

Just to informs you that it's not on all the computers ':P
Posted By: Hunter

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 02:33 PM

No I don't think it was the windows key. That actually happened also but I was able to get back to the game without too many problems. It must have been something else.

Concerning the bottle : I understand that it works the way you explain it but it just doesn't make sense. They should have given that specific bottle a special name or special appearance. Something like "bottle of magic Perrier to help thirsty prisoners". That at least would be clear.
Posted By: Hunter

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 02:34 PM

and for the rest double thumbs up for Larian because with all these remarks you should almost forget that it was overall a great demo!
Posted By: Tovi

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 03:48 PM

I've seen two bugs in the game:

-minor graphical bug: When you kill an enemy, and his corpse falls "behind" one of the massive chains found in the first area, the corpse actually starts flickering randomly between being displayed "behind" and "in front of" the chains.

-I can't repeat this, but for some reason at one point in the game you're supposed to flip 4 switches in order to open the door on the bottom right corner of that room. After entering the room that you just unlocked, I heard a monster shout, and my characters died instantly. (Weird...)
Posted By: kabuti

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 03:49 PM

you forgot 1 switch.....to disarm the trap......
Posted By: Tovi

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 03:58 PM

Ah right... Silly me. But a trap that kills you in one go? Pretty frustrating if you haven't saved in a while.
Posted By: Benjie

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 04:12 PM

I have tried reseting my configuration, but it doesn't solve anything.
I have also tried several different combinations in my Configuration menu, still nothing.
Posted By: Jurak

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 04:14 PM

same here......
Posted By: DoritoOfDeath

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 04:15 PM

Quote:

I get a heap of bugs. I thought I'd make a thread to post them in if you get any.

-Colours absolutely messed up in menu, title, and in the game. (there are some major pallette bugs)
-Takes ages for my character to change appearence by equiping a new weapon/changing appearence at character creation.
-Occasionally slows down for no reason.
-Occasionally Halts for for reason and temporarily.
-Takes forever for area transition (not sure if this is normal. It's a lot slower than Divine Divinity)

I'm running on...

Gforce 3 128mb (the high end one, can't remember exact name)
512 DDR ram
2ghz athalon
Hardisk w/ cache.
Desktop PC (not a laptop)




Geforce 3's have no directx 9 support at all. This could be your problem.
Posted By: LewsTherinKinslayer13

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 05:18 PM

Quote:

BIG TIME Divinity fan! Started BD demo up(ANXIOUSLY!!), created character, saved, closed game. A few minutes later went to start game up again and at the load screen it says to insert play disc 3. Anyone else have this problem? Wonder if it has something to do with having DD loaded as other reply suggested.





doh. thats not good. no, i didn't have that problem. sorry.
Posted By: Raze

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 06:07 PM

Geforce 3's have no directx 9 support at all. This could be your problem.

The minimum requirements for BD are a GeForce2 class video card, though. Any features unsupported in hardware should be done via software in DirectX.


went to start game up again and at the load screen it says to insert play disc 3.

Could you have accidentally clicked on the Divinity shortcut out of habit?
Posted By: HappyAlien

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 06:10 PM

I'm not sure but the guy that ask for the water.

I could swear he had a somewhat normal voice the first time I spoke to him (and he requested water). So I went to get the bottle of water came back spoke to him again and his voice was all robot-like. In fact his voice was almost the same as the famous "all your base are belong to us" incredibly high pitched robot voice...which doesn't fit a human prisoner.

Thing is I'm pretty certain his voice was normal the first time, but since I have overwritten my quicksave I can't check it quickly and don't have the time to start a new game at the moment, can anyone confirm this high pitched robot voice for the water-prisoner?
Posted By: LewsTherinKinslayer13

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 06:12 PM

i think its a vocodor.
Posted By: HappyAlien

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 06:13 PM

ah...he looked human to me

maybe I'm used to weird-looking humans being all dutch and stuff
Posted By: LewsTherinKinslayer13

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 06:16 PM

lol
Posted By: LewsTherinKinslayer13

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 07:19 PM

hmm. i just got through a locked door! darn, DK is stuck, luckily its jus in a cell at the end, so young lews ran aheda, took up the heavy sword, slayed the first spider, and jumped down the pipe!



hmm, I wonder if you could use the locked door bug to get through the door thats locked, "hell, we've been delivered to samual on a plate" DK says. with the stair??? maybe get a little more demo to play?
Posted By: Raze

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 08:40 PM

If one character gets stuck jumping through a locked door, you can have the other character enter a tunnel or sleep in a haystack to have the first one teleport there and out of the room.
Posted By: AgentJ

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/03/04 10:34 PM


About the water,

It could be named Clear Water...? or Fresh Water?...

(And I could have done a better dehydrated voice than the robot... lol)
Posted By: HappyAlien

Re: Demo bugs. - 05/03/04 03:06 PM

Got me a bug aswell.

you have those 3 prisons, the middle one is where the prisoner ask for water.
The left and right one have a ghost inside. Anyways I was talking to the prisoner who wnated water. The DK moved towards the right-bottom corner of that middle cell and suddenly he got attacked by the ghost from the cell to the right. The DK and the ghost had a lovely fight going on...and while I all went "huh isn't there supposed to be a wall between the two?" the DK died.

seems like a smaal bug to me, it might be me but I figured there was a wall between the middle cell and the right cell
Posted By: the_bean

Re: Demo bugs. - 06/03/04 04:52 PM

i found a bug. and appearently i could repeat it.
ok to even GET the bug running is a game on it's own

Situation.
i'm on the level where the deathknight(DK) sais, look above maybe whe can use a robe or something.
i have both characters selected and the DK as my primary one.
then i climbed up the robe.
Quicksaved imediately after i was in the upper room.
then fought the first guard.
then went down and then to the right into the furgus room.
Let the conversation going untill it ends.

ok so far this is only the beginning.
i did several variations like talking to the skull first and get the "imp meat" coversation. but this has no effect on the bug.

After the conversation is over:
1) fight fergus.
2) Then i died.
3) i pressed escape
4) i pressed load
5) i got a window saying are you sure you want to loose your current game?
6) i canceld that (pressing the "X" button on the screen)
7) i went back to the screen were i saw i was still dead.
8) So i pressed escape again
) then i pressed load
10)are you sure -> yes
11)now i'm back in the first room.
12) i clicked beyond the door (not on the door itself)
so my char walk to that spot and openend automaticly the door.

now you would normaly get the conversation
with the guard saying (his voice) and seeing (his text)
"your not suppost to..the prisoners has ascaped"
but i get another voice saying "What have we here? I'm afraid your in the wrong cell prisoners!"
and then the game crashes too the desktop.

i know i'm looking for some trouble here


Posted By: Merendrious

Re: Demo bugs. - 06/03/04 05:16 PM

Jezus how did you find out that
Posted By: Raze

Re: Demo bugs. - 06/03/04 07:22 PM

That wrong comment is from a cutscene conversation later in the demo.
Posted By: Kejero

Re: Demo bugs. - 06/03/04 08:14 PM

- Being the incredibly fast guy that I am *shrug*, the first thing I did when the game began, was clicking the hay. A dialogue window appears. Right then, the game goes into "cutscene" mode, and follows the Death Knight. Only, the dialogue box was still visible and covering the DK all the way... Even during the conversation it was still in the middle of my screen (although you do have ablility at that point to close it). It's not a major "bug", but it's not very "polished" either.

- Real bug here: my Death Knight let Plox go (after finishing off Fergus-or-whats-his-name). Plox runs off, but I wanted to have my other character say goodbye to him as well (I went for the gentle hero, alright!), so I clicked the Imp (in not-combat mode, should that matter). This caused Plox to halt in front of the door, and both my characters refusing to move. Couldn't make them walk anywhere anymore. What a shame, having travelled that far only to have to give up on undoing the curse because they'd forgotten how to walk I mean, that WAS a short demo! On a serious note: I went to the menu and noticed that the "Save" was disabled, so I suppose the game got stuck in a "cutscene" mode somewhere there.

If either of those bugs have been mentioned before... then I was still first. ->
Posted By: the_bean

Re: Demo bugs. - 07/03/04 06:54 AM

another bug i found was that i clicked somewere on the mini map. it could be a dubble click also..i forgot.
and my char imediadly began to run to that spot i cliked on in the minimap.
the only problem was that i couldn't cancel that movement.
even if i clicked elswere on the screen.
Posted By: the_bean

Re: Demo bugs. - 07/03/04 07:01 AM

heheh it looks like we're betatesting online here

Ok i just remembered, also.
when i wanted to kill fergus, (wich wasn't an easy task)
i made a cunning tacktic.
i lured fergus away out of his room and trough the gate wich can only be openeed from the bottom side.
and moved upwards to the map.
there i did a run, hit tacktic with my bow, and my deathknight attacked him with water magic.
when he died. i emidiatly got a window with a conversation whith that imp.
even if we were like 1 km appart in distance.
and from then on , i didn't got any sound with the voices no more.
so the textwindow with the imp is probably better to show if you go to the imp and click on him?
Posted By: LewsTherinKinslayer13

Re: Demo bugs. - 07/03/04 07:03 AM

LOL!!


Maybe YOU are,



I am Alpha testing
Posted By: Raze

Re: Demo bugs. - 07/03/04 09:03 AM

I never had any problems changing the destination after clicking on a cleared area of the mini-map to move my characters there. I don't think I ever double clicked, though.

I had the voice volume cut out on me as well, when I was hitting 1 quickly to go through the dialogs with the 4 locked up guards faster. I saved, quit, re-started and re-loaded, and the voice volume was back.
Posted By: HandEFood

Re: Demo bugs. - 07/03/04 09:21 AM

Quote:

heheh it looks like we're betatesting online here



Patch 1.01, already en-route!
Posted By: Morbo

Re: Demo bugs. - 07/03/04 09:35 AM

Did anyone notice that when a chest is near a door you can open the chest without opining the door.

example


got this from an other forum somewhere.
Posted By: HandEFood

Re: Demo bugs. - 07/03/04 09:52 AM

I found the same. Notably, the Torture Rack in the madman's cell.

That could make a good puzzle though. Put the key in a box next to the grate. You have to reach through to get it!

Also, I noticed that you seem to have really long arms. You can open a container from about 3 meters away!
Posted By: Morbo

Re: Demo bugs. - 07/03/04 10:00 AM

Standard telekenisis skill
Posted By: HandEFood

Re: Demo bugs. - 07/03/04 10:52 AM

Limbkinesis.
Posted By: the_mighty_stamar

Re: Demo bugs. - 07/03/04 10:57 AM

I wish I could have documented this bug better for the developer but i will just describe it

twice I walked through walls. One time it was just one character(the death knight) one time it was both characters.

Both characters walked through the wall at around the area where the lever is that opens the first prison area.

My characters walked through the black area around the whole perimeter.

I couldnt get back in the fortress. so it was game ending although i could walk around a large area of blackness.

Antoher time the death knight walked through a locked door and fought the ghost inside. after he killed it we unlocked the door but if i didnt have the key my characters would have been seperated at least til i found the key.
Posted By: the_bean

Re: Demo bugs. - 07/03/04 04:07 PM

my deadknight was somehow also left behind the walls, in th earea were you can climb upwards to the fergus section.
but that problem easaly solved itself by selecting my other hero and walked a bit further away.
somehow the deathknight is transported back just besides you.
Posted By: Barta

Re: Demo bugs. - 08/03/04 11:48 PM

Quote:

Got me a bug aswell.

you have those 3 prisons, the middle one is where the prisoner ask for water.
The left and right one have a ghost inside. Anyways I was talking to the prisoner who wnated water. The DK moved towards the right-bottom corner of that middle cell and suddenly he got attacked by the ghost from the cell to the right. The DK and the ghost had a lovely fight going on...and while I all went "huh isn't there supposed to be a wall between the two?" the DK died.

seems like a smaal bug to me, it might be me but I figured there was a wall between the middle cell and the right cell



I had a similar problem, after fighting the 3 guards, i was outside of the cell of the ghost with level 5 and my Deathknight went through the wall to attack the ghost in his cell.
Of course, the DK has been killed.
Posted By: ghost1234

Re: Demo bugs. - 27/03/04 05:42 PM

Well that is strange. The same things happen to me but I assumed it was because I have a very poor set up:confused:.

Obvious question but are you drivers fully updated (especially the video card).
Also check dxdiag and see what that says.

Posted By: Napalm

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/04/04 08:49 PM

problem here.
when flipping the 4 switches in the prison my main charachter (not black knight) uhhh walked through the wall. i was able to walk around in the black through out the map but nowhere could i get back in -_-;
note: I dont save my games often enough
Posted By: LewsTherinKinslayer13

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/04/04 10:17 PM

that happened to me too! and a few others! but I think Larian fixed it, no more walking through walls... sadly.
Posted By: Raze

Re: Demo bugs. - 04/04/04 10:42 PM

You can have your other character sleep or enter a tunnel, etc to teleport the DK inside the map again.
Posted By: Napalm

Re: Demo bugs. - 05/04/04 01:34 AM

thanks
now theres just the problem that my computer SUCKS
Posted By: Plowking

Re: Demo bugs. - 05/04/04 09:42 AM

Quote:

and for the rest double thumbs up for Larian because with all these remarks you should almost forget that it was overall a great demo!




As much as I like the Larian gang, I must totally disagree with this.

If ever a demo could put me off buying a game (that I was originally going to buy without question) it's this demo.

I turned the demo off after a few minutes in frustration...that may sound harsh, that I only played for a few mins before turning it off...but it was almost unplayable.

I'm going to try again tonight after reading some stuff here...

First it stuttered everytime a new character model appeared on 800x600
AMD 700
RAM 512
Gefore 2 32bit

Then it was almost impossible to attack..what a control blunder! What's the point of the circles under the characters if you cant use them to attack??

Pressing CTRL for the whole game when attacking things is NOT an option! I never had to use it in .

The main character model looks very odd running about and just doesn't look right when moving anywhere!

Demo

Full Game
Posted By: Pevil

Re: Demo bugs. - 14/04/04 10:41 AM

Hi everyone, new here, just downloaded the demo today and only played for an hour or so, but found a couple of glitches rather than bugs. Figured I'd post anyway

When you come up out of the hole after escaping the dungeon cell, you fight a guard. Well first time i finished fighting the guard, somehow my death knight ended up outside of any of the proper rooms, and my hero was still inside. Since death knight was my leading character, when i moved, both ended up outside the level and i was able to run around in all the blackness!!!

Also I found Plotz (dunno if that's his name, lil torturer slave thing) and if you click on him after saying he can go, game glitches so you can't move at all. annoying since Fergus was so damn hard to kill
Posted By: Raze

Re: Demo bugs. - 14/04/04 12:38 PM

A few people have run into problems jumping through walls. I would think this should be fixed in the full version. Maybe someone can comment if this problem has showed up much in the patched German version. Had only one character jumped through a wall, you could have slept or entered a tunnel to teleport the other character inside the map again.

I didn't have a problem with Plox. I followed him once to see where he went, but I don't recall if I tried clicking on him, or not.


Welcome to the forum.
Posted By: RedruM

Re: Demo bugs. - 27/04/04 09:34 PM

I noticed that when you hit a character, the hp etc they lose is displayed ON the enemy itself, instead of above their head like in Divine Divinity, or am I wrong here ? If so, this is NOT good, stats have to come ABOVE their heads, otherwise you can't see them well, PLUS it hides the enemy somewhat, which I rather see moving in full glory.

Besides that I haven't tested the on screen display yet but I hope it can be made smaller by right clicking on it like in Divine Divinity. So we can have full view. Like I said I hope it's in it, I deleted the demo because I don't want to see too much of the game yet

I read before on a certain site which covered weekly news about Beyond Divinity, that one of the reasons the game was delayed was because someone thaught the voices weren't well enough. Well to be honest, I do hope that the voices are a bit better then in the demo and that they were like, the old voices or something because they're not really fantastic
Still it'll get the job done so I won't mind that too much.

The rest looks well thaught out, and gave me the impression of more detail etc. then in Divine Divinity, like for example the journal, and map etc, but nothing big.

Overall, looking very well. Still those stats would be a big mistake (if I saw it correctly )

Laterz

PS.: Oh and BTW, I DO hope that there's going to be a DUTCH forum again Like there was for Divine Divinity (best rpg since a loooooong time btw )

© 2020 Larian Studios forums