Larian Studios
Posted By: Horatio Crazy overpowered weapons in early game? - 06/11/10 07:29 PM
Hi everybody,

I just started playing the steam version DKS and while I'm very, very impressed with the game, I've managed to find two different weapons that provide +40 magic and +40 melee damage in the first couple of dungeons, which means that dual-wielding my character is now doing around 100 dmg per attack at level 6. Even though I'm playing on hard my guy can pretty much 1 (or at worst 2) shot everything he encounters.

Is this normal? Is anyone else experiencing this? Seems like some of these damage modifiers are out of whack with the rest of the modifiers for low level weapons. Did someone make a typo somewhere in the weapon tables?

Cheers,

H
Posted By: Raze Re: Crazy overpowered weapons in early game? - 06/11/10 08:03 PM

A couple people mentioned leveling much easier at the start of the game (ie getting to level 9 by the end of the initial section of Broken Valley, rather than 7), and finding much better equipment from the smith and from loot.
A +40 damage bonus seems rather excessive, though. In D2:ED my final weapons had a comparable bonus, found/looted after level 30.

damage: 44-73
+39 melee damage
+29 magic damage

damage: 61-75
+39 melee damage

Welcome to the forum. wave
Posted By: Horatio Re: Crazy overpowered weapons in early game? - 06/11/10 08:56 PM
Thanks for the response. I guess the folks at Larian must have gotten a lot of complaints about early difficulty and overcompensated somewhat.

Anyway, the +40 magic weapon was literally the first weapon I found and I went from doing 2-4 dmg with the training sword to doing 50+ damage. I thought it rather odd that my first real weapon was more powerful than the lvl 15 requirement weapons that come as a bonus with the steam edition.