Larian Studios

[FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support

Posted By: Larian_QA

[FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 05/08/13 04:37 PM

Known issues:

1) Issue: The game does not start up:

Solution A: Start up the game in windowed mode.

download this file:
http://bit.ly/184FHUJ

And place it in ..\Documents\Larian Studios\Dragon Commander\
If these folders do not exist, create them manually.

You can now start the game and set it to the windowed resolution of your choice.


Solution B: delete all files in ..\Documents\Larian Studios\Dragon Commander\
This will reset all config and graphics options to default.

Solution C: : disable windows firewall or 3rd party firewall
Symptoms reported when the firewall turned out to be the problem were the game freezing when trying to load or just getting a black screen with the game cursor, but not showing the logo and getting to the main menu.

Solution D:
reinstall the game on a different drive (preferably not an external drive) or follow the steps here to clear your steam appcache.

----------------------------------------------

2) When going to combat, the game crashes

Solution A: Set your graphics settings to medium or lower. Texture quality should be medium or lower.

Solution B: if you are playing on a laptop with both intel HD onboard graphics and a mobile graphics card, set your preferred graphics processor to the NVIDIA or AMD card instead of onboard intel.
http://lnv.gy/19KJdI6

If the issue persists, send a mail to supportdc@larian.com

----------------------------------------------

3) Crashes in RTS with C++ error messages mentioning Graphine or list.h asserts

solution: download these two .dll files and extract them into the install folder ..\Divinity Dragon Commander\Shipping

Mirror download link

----------------------------------------------

4) Issue symptoms:
- one third of the screen is white
- you have graphics artifacts/sorting issues
- you have font problems (words missing or letters missing)
- you have very low framerate in the interface or in combat


solution: do not force Anti-Aliasing in your driver settings for our application. Set it to default 3D settings or set it to "application controlled". Do not override AA settings via drivers.

----------------------------------------------

5) The game crashes after the first loading screen when starting up the game.

Solution: There is probably a corrupted savegame being loaded in. Go to ..\Documents\Larian Studios\Dragon Commander\Savegames and move all saves to another location (perhaps a subfolder in the savegames folder). If that fixes the problem, you can move groups of files back and try starting the game to narrow down which is/are corrupt (most likely an autosave).

----------------------------------------------

6) game crashes when starting campaign or multiplayer (and skill icons are missing)

Solution: change your installation path to not include characters like ".". Change your installation folder to a normal name without special characters.
(should be fixed in the latest version)

----------------------------------------------

7) heavy mouse input lag on machines with lowend GPU or onboard solutions

Solution: Edit the file below in a text editor, search for 'RenderDeferred' and 2 lines below, change the one to a zero and save.
..\Documents\Larian Studios\Dragon Commander\graphicSettings.lsx

<attribute id="MapKey" value="RenderDeferred" type="22" />
<attribute id="Type" value="0" type="5" />
<attribute id="Value" value="1" type="4" />

----------------------------------------------

8) where are the imperial edition files ?

You can find them in C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Divinity Dragon Commander\Imperial edition

----------------------------------------------



*** Contacting support:

If you encounter difficulties installing or running Divinity: Dragon Commander, do not hesitate to contact our technical support department by email or via the official forum.

Before contacting support, we suggest that you first check our technical support forums: http://www.larian.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=postlist&Board=59&page=1

Should this not help you, please download and run the following support tool (www.larian.com/DDC_SupportTool.exe), which
will create a diagnostic report.
Please send the report.zip generated by the tool to supportDC@larian.com together with the following information:

* Name of the game
* language
* platform (steam, gog.com, larianvault.com)
* Type of problem (In order to help you most effectively please describe the problem as clearly as possible)
* When does this problem occur?
Posted By: SeptimusHodge

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 06/08/13 06:11 AM

Is there any chance of a 21:9 aspect ratio support?

I pre-ordered the game and love the beta, and while I could select the 2560x1080 resolution of my monitor, it added black bars on the sides frown

Thanks
Posted By: Ticlimax

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 06/08/13 09:00 AM

I can't download the game through the vault. It says "missing parameter!". Help would be greatly appreciated.
Edit: Never mind, used the code through steam, which did the trick.
Posted By: AngryMan

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 06/08/13 01:29 PM

The game crashes to desktop on launch. I have a 1600x900 res but the above solutions A or B don't work. Does anyone have a solution?
Posted By: Larian_QA

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 06/08/13 01:31 PM

Originally Posted By: AngryMan
The game crashes to desktop on launch. I have a 1600x900 res but the above solutions A or B don't work. Does anyone have a solution?


Can you use the support contact information to describe your problem? please include the report.zip and a link to this topic.

Hopefully we can solve the issue if we have more information.
Posted By: Larian_QA

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 06/08/13 02:56 PM

New known issue on GoG release version:
- Stuck in waiting for commander after loading a savegame

Will be fixed as soon as possible. Issue does not happen on other difficulty settings or on steam version.
Posted By: PiZdrot

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 06/08/13 03:24 PM

Hello.

Dear Sirs,

I have a strange problem.
I've installed today Divinity: Dragon Commander - Imperial Edition (RU) and I can't see the mouse cursor into Main Menu and in the game too... It seems like cursor very often and furiously blinking/ One blink then No cursor about 1 second then one blink and NO cursor anymore.. So. I can't chang the resolution and other settings. Also, I can't play the game without mouse cursor.
I tried two different mouses: Logitech and Genius but result the same. No cursor in the Menu/Game. I changed resolution from 1920x1200 down to 1440x900 - no mouse cursor.

My OS Microsoft Windows 7 Max 6.1.7601 64-bit + AMD HD 6970 driver 13.1
________________________________________
Btw. Last few days I've played Divinity II and there NO such problem with cursor. Everything is OK there!
Posted By: Larian_QA

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 06/08/13 03:32 PM

Originally Posted By: PiZdrot
Hello.

Dear Sirs,

I have a strange problem.
I've installed today Divinity: Dragon Commander - Imperial Edition (RU) and I can't see the mouse cursor into Main Menu and in the game too... It seems like cursor very often and furiously blinking/ One blink then No cursor about 1 second then one blink and NO cursor anymore.. So. I can't chang the resolution and other settings. Also, I can't play the game without mouse cursor.
I tried two different mouses: Logitech and Genius but result the same. No cursor in the Menu/Game. I changed resolution from 1920x1200 down to 1440x900 - no mouse cursor.

My OS Microsoft Windows 7 Max 6.1.7601 64-bit + AMD HD 6970 driver 13.1
________________________________________
Btw. Last few days I've played Divinity II and there NO such problem with cursor. Everything is OK there!


** Contacting support:

please download and run the following support tool (www.larian.com/DDC_SupportTool.exe), which
will create a diagnostic report.
Please send the report.zip generated by the tool to supportDC@larian.com together with the following information:

* Name of the game
* language
* platform (steam, gog.com, larianvault.com)
* Type of problem (In order to help you most effectively please describe the problem as clearly as possible)
* When does this problem occur?
Posted By: Larian_QA

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 07/08/13 10:01 AM

We found a new issue, that install folders with a "." will crash on starting a new campaign and will have many other issues (like missing skill icons) because it cannot find certain game files.

Temporary solution is to remove the "." in your install path.

Thanks to Dennis for reporting this to us!
Posted By: Bansheedragon

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 07/08/13 11:30 AM

Originally Posted By: Larian_QA
We found a new issue, that install folders with a "." will crash on starting a new campaign and will have many other issues (like missing skill icons) because it cannot find certain game files.

Temporary solution is to remove the "." in your install path.


I tried renaming my install folder as stated, even if I don't got this crash issue. But every icon (skill/unit/building) in my version of Dragon Commander (pre-order from GOG.com) seems to be nonexistent... only a blank background is showing.
Everything else works fine.
Posted By: Larian_QA

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 07/08/13 01:39 PM

Hi Bansheedragon,

Could you send a report.zip to support ? This would help us find and fix this issue.
Please include a link to this topic. Thank you.

** Contacting support:

please download and run the following support tool (www.larian.com/DDC_SupportTool.exe), which
will create a diagnostic report.
Please send the report.zip generated by the tool to supportDC@larian.com together with the following information:

* Name of the game
* language
* platform (steam, gog.com, larianvault.com)
* Type of problem (In order to help you most effectively please describe the problem as clearly as possible)
* When does this problem occur?
Posted By: EinTroll

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 07/08/13 02:30 PM

This should be a locked sticky thread IMHO. Reason is to keep people focused on the first post with all the troubleshooting information built up so far. But I'm not a mod, so what do I know?
Posted By: paro

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 16/08/13 01:17 AM

I need help, I have tried getting ahold of someone through Email but I still have not gotten any help. I bought Dragon Commander over The Vault, and when I looked in 'My games' to make sure it was there, it was empty, let alone when I saw that I was suppose to get a confirmation email, I have still not gotten it, its not in spam and its been a couple days now. Please help! I would love to talk to someone other then get automatic failed Email responses!
Posted By: Raze

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 16/08/13 02:23 AM


Did you email support@larian.com? That should get you an automatic conformation when received, and a personal reply within a day or two, depending on how busy they are (though hopefully faster in situations like this).
Posted By: paro

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 16/08/13 02:38 AM

I did send one in, and im hoping I get something back, but before this one I got one back saying my notice failed? Either way... if it happens again I need to try my best to have a live chat if possible.
Posted By: Raze

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 16/08/13 02:44 AM


Maybe there was a typo the first time? In any case, if you get an error again, email me (raze@larian.com) and I'll forward it to someone who can look into it.
Posted By: Aeradom

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 16/08/13 03:14 AM

So I was having the issue with the first problem, that I would attempt to open the game and it would freeze. I attempted to option one and two, tried to run in windowed mode and delete to no avail. However, when I deactivated my Comodo firewall, it allowed the program to run. Just thought I'd let you guys know what worked for me, and thanks for the FAQ.
Posted By: Raze

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 16/08/13 03:47 AM


Thanks for the feedback.
Posted By: paro

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 16/08/13 04:08 AM

Ok, thanks a lot. I will tell you if I get an error again.
Posted By: tastethecourage

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 16/08/13 07:46 PM

In a battle, turning/spinning the camera reveals the ground textures have been lowered to VERY low res, and it noticably takes a moment or two to buffer in the high-res textures. It happens every time I spin the camera around and look the opposite way... all the textures need to buffer back in again.

It looks like RAGE did at first on AMD cards... that horrible texture load-in.

It happens on all settings. I have a fairly nice PC. I haven't had this issue with any other games.

3570k @ 4.0 ghz
670 FTW
8gb ram


I just updated to the newest drivers.

Any ideas? Please tell me this texture load in isn't "normal". It happens whenever I pan the camera at all. Constantly.
Posted By: tastethecourage

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 19/08/13 05:18 AM

Originally Posted By: tastethecourage
In a battle, turning/spinning the camera reveals the ground textures have been lowered to VERY low res, and it noticably takes a moment or two to buffer in the high-res textures. It happens every time I spin the camera around and look the opposite way... all the textures need to buffer back in again.

It looks like RAGE did at first on AMD cards... that horrible texture load-in.

It happens on all settings. I have a fairly nice PC. I haven't had this issue with any other games.

3570k @ 4.0 ghz
670 FTW
8gb ram


I just updated to the newest drivers.

Any ideas? Please tell me this texture load in isn't "normal". It happens whenever I pan the camera at all. Constantly.


Please Larian can you help me out?

The game is only taking up around 950mb of video ram, yet it is refusing to keep textures loaded! When I turn the camera around, all of the textures are extremely blurry and buffer back in. There is NO reason for this to happen, I have a 2.0gb card.... why not keep the textures loaded up?
Posted By: Marmus

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 31/10/13 12:01 AM

I recently purchased DDC from the Steam sale a little while back and I have a
few questions concerning performance; frame rate specifically.

Even on low settings with a faux widescreen resolution (such as 1366x768), I have slow down during battles,
especially during the dragon form's forward boost. Even my max FPS in the main base is only about 35.

I've ran the DDC support tool, and everything seems to check out hardware wise. Actual performance
seems to contradict that verdict, however.

Main specs are:
Intel Core i7-4930MX CPU @ 3GHZ
GeForce GTX 780M
16 GB RAM
Windows 7 Home; 64 bit

Any help or information would be greatly appreciated.
(One last thing; I'm not sure if it matters, but I am trying to run this on a laptop.)
Posted By: Raze

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 31/10/13 03:28 AM


Does your laptop also have integrated graphics? If so, check the nvidia control panel and make sure the game is set to use the the GeForce graphics (screenshot).

Are you shutting down all non-essential programs (especially anti-virus) before starting the game?
Posted By: Marmus

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 04/11/13 10:53 PM

Ahhh, that fixed it. The control panel was set to auto-select,
and it was apparently selecting the integrated graphics over the
GeForce card.

This will also solve a few other performance issues that I couldn't
figure out.

Thank you kindly, Raze. I greatly appreciate your help.
Posted By: b0g4rt

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 05/01/14 06:30 AM

Hi. I bought DDC a couple of days ago and I can't change resolution. Game runs in 800x600. In video options, list of aviliable resolutions is empty, so I can't choose another one. Editing graphicSettings.lsx didn't help, game still starts in 800x600.
Posted By: Raze

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 05/01/14 06:56 AM


Try right clicking on the (non-Steam) shortcut for the game (or for any version on the DCApp.exe file in the ..\Divinity Dragon Commander\Shipping\ folder) and selecting 'Run as administrator', and see if that gets any resolutions to show up in the options. You can also right click, select Properties and in the Compatibility tab try some compatibility modes (and in Win 7 maybe disable desktop composition).

Did you try switching display modes? Try deleting or renaming the graphicSettings.lsx file to get the game to recreate it the next time it is started.

I assume your desktop is at something higher that 800x600... You can try changing your desktop resolution. One person had a particular resolution missing from the graphics options list, but changing their desktop resolution to that got it to show up in the game, and they then changed their desktop resolution back.
Posted By: b0g4rt

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 05/01/14 07:28 AM

Thank you. Changing desktop resolution helped
Posted By: TrouserDemon

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 08/04/14 05:02 PM

I've been having a problem with producing units during battles; the progress bar just keeps going past the end of the box and the units are never produced. This is somewhat game breaking.

http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=185746555

This is a screenshot of the issue taken by another user with the same problem.
Posted By: Raze

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 08/04/14 10:46 PM


One person reported that making an exception in their firewall for the game fixed that unit production bug.

One person had this happen for a specific battle, but they used some mercenary cards and auto-resolved it, and it didn't re-occur. Another with occasional problems said it only happened after playing for a few hours, so as long as they made periodic saves they could restart the game and continue normally if it happened again.


If that doesn't help, please email supportdc@larian.com, with a description of the problem and the report.zip file generated by the Dragon Commander support tool.
Posted By: iGORE

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 12/04/14 07:45 PM

Originally Posted By: Bansheedragon
Originally Posted By: Larian_QA
We found a new issue, that install folders with a "." will crash on starting a new campaign and will have many other issues (like missing skill icons) because it cannot find certain game files.

Temporary solution is to remove the "." in your install path.


I tried renaming my install folder as stated, even if I don't got this crash issue. But every icon (skill/unit/building) in my version of Dragon Commander (pre-order from GOG.com) seems to be nonexistent... only a blank background is showing.
Everything else works fine.



same problem here. Already verified the files and tried to change the folder name, but didn't work.
Posted By: Felgrand Phoenix

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 10/07/14 02:42 PM

Hey there. I purchased DDC just over a week ago, and have had a really annoying issue. Every time I try to load the game up, it just barely manages to get past showing the Larian logo, before completely crashing on me and going to desktop. I've tried every possible solution to this problem: restarting it in windowed, resetting the config files, uninstalling and re-installing it, and nothing solves the issue. The support tool claims there's nothing wrong with anything, yet the game doesn't even make it to the main menu before crashing. I doubt i'd get a reply considering how long it's been since the last post, but it would mean a lot if someone got back to me. I really was looking forward to playing DDC and I don't want it to be a situation in which I bought a game that was 100% useless.

Thanks.
Posted By: Raze

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 11/07/14 04:55 AM


Did you already email supportdc@larian.com, with a description of the problem and the report.zip file generated by the Dragon Commander support tool?

I'm not sure what else to suggest, that you have not tried already or mentioned above...
Posted By: Felgrand Phoenix

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 13/07/14 12:21 PM

@Raze

I have, yes. After exhausting every option I ran the support tool and made a brief email to the one you mentioned. I attached the report to the email and sent it off, only I haven't heard a word since.

Perhaps I should try again?
Posted By: Jsiegel

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 02/02/16 09:56 PM

So whenever I try to install using Steam I get an error message that states: An error occurred while installing Divinity: Dragon Commander (missing content manifest)

No clue what this even means.
Posted By: Raze

Re: [FAQ] Troubleshooting Dragon Commander & support - 02/02/16 10:18 PM


Exit out of Steam, and then in Windows Explorer, browse to the '..\SteamApps' folder where you are trying to install the game (to check that, in the client click the Steam menu, select Settings, and then in the Downloads section, click the Steam Library Folder button).
After that, delete or rename the appmanifest_243950.acf file, and you should be able to restart Steam and install the game. If you have Windows Explorer in details view (right click an open area of the right pane), sorting by date may make it easier to find, or if the majority of your installed library are older titles, it would be near the bottom when sorted by name.

If that doesn't help (it should), try changing your Download Region or speed, or Refresh Your Steam Files and reboot your computer.
© 2020 Larian Studios forums