Larian Studios
Posted By: SteelRodent Random reboot when loading saved game - 08/12/19 05:09 PM
While playing over the last 3-4 days I've got a persistent issue where my computer drops into reboot whenever I attempt to reload a save during combat - aka attempting to savescum when a fight isn't salvagable. The loading bar fills up like normal and then the computer goes into reboot. The game otherwise runs perfectly stable and I've not encountered any other issues playing it, but for whatever reason it takes down the computer completely when trying to load a save while the game is running.

This is my first attempt playing the definitive edition, but although I never had the time to play much of the game before all the updates, I never had load/save issues with the original version. But granted, I never played it before on my current GPU (GTX 1660 Ti).

No other game I play cause stability issues on this level; even much heavier games don't cause a reboot and don't even crash windows.

Automatic reboot is disabled in Windows, and according to the event log there are no errors at all except for the erroneous reboot itself.
Verified game files, ran chkdsk on all drives after every reboot, and I can continue the game after recovering from the reboot it runs completely stable as long as I don't try to roll back to a previous save again.

Computer:
AMD FX-8350 4+ GHz in MSI 990FXA-GD80 motherboard w. CoolerMaster overdimensioned air-cooler (can't remember the model)
16 GB (4x4) Kingston HyperX Genesis DDR3-1600
Asus Geforce GTX 1660 Ti 6 GB GDDR6 dual-OC
WD 640 GB Caviar SE Black HDD (system) old, but SMART is clean
WD 4 TB Black HDD (game and pagefile is on this one)
Seagate Barracuda 2 TB HDD
Corsair RM750i PSU
Fractal Design Define R4 case, dual 140 mm intake fans in front, single 140 mm output in back

Running Windows 7 SP1, Eset NOD32 anti-virus, Windows firewall

due for an upgrade, but can't afford it atm. PSU is about 8 months old, GPU from this summer.