Larian Studios

Made my level in the wrong editor! (SOLVED)

Posted By: Thellamaking

Made my level in the wrong editor! (SOLVED) - 26/11/18 08:17 PM

Hello guys and cool to be on this forum! I recently started making a big campaign for some friends in GM mode and thought i'd try making one of the scenes in the editor so i could fully customise it with dialogues and stuff. Everything worked fine and I learnt ALOT. Had some startup problems but made it work by going into the path and running the editor as an admin (Here's where things went wrong!!)
Turns out the editor i started was for classic edition, and all of the gm campaign is in def ed.. I spent soo much time on this level, is there any way to make it work in def ed? Like convert the addon or whatever?

Also i still cant start def ed engine. Just crashes on startup.
Any helps and tips are deeply appreciated. Im no computer genius so dont assume i know programming stuff!

TL:DR
Made level/addon in divinity engine 2 for classic ed.
Made GM campaign in Def ed.
Can i make this work somehow?
Posted By: Windemere

Re: Made my level in the wrong editor! Can i fix it? - 27/11/18 01:45 AM

Have a look at the wiki for importing classic mods (once you get the DE editor working).
Posted By: Thellamaking

Re: Made my level in the wrong editor! Can i fix it? - 27/11/18 08:45 AM

Thanks! That's super helpfull! Now i have regained hope of making this campaign happen.
Still not able to figure out the crashes :P
Seems to be alot of people that have/had similar problems. Def ed engine just won't start. It crashes upon loading without even giving me an error message. Also tried to start it from the root as admin etc. Nothing seems to work. Running windows 10 so I guess that's where the problem is :P
Posted By: Thellamaking

Re: Made my level in the wrong editor! Can i fix it? - 27/11/18 10:27 AM

Hey again guys! Everything is solved. Turns out i made the standard error by selecting the wrong data folder for the def ed.
Also import project worked great! Thank you a lot for the help! I really aprpreciate it!
Posted By: Windemere

Re: Made my level in the wrong editor! Can i fix it? - 27/11/18 05:10 PM

Good news! Thanks for the update.
© 2020 Larian Studios forums