Larian Banner: Baldur's Gate Patch 9
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Noaloha Offline OP
enthusiast
OP Offline
enthusiast
Greetings everyone. I'm a complete modding virgin and I want to make a little adventure story in the Divinity Editor. I've pored through the official tutorial videos and read this forum from front to back. I'd like to say that I'm swimming in useful information, but the (metaphorical) reality is that I'm drowning in it. There's so much to absorb and I think I'm especially getting hung up on whether the information applies only to modding the main campaign or whether it can be applied in general to a stand-alone module, not to mention whether an idea of mine can be achieved through Divinity Engine's story editor, or if I need to mess around unpacking stuff in the LSTool and tinkering blindly.

With that out of the way, I was hoping to appeal to any kind souls out there who might be willing to throw complete newbies a bone. I (and I'd like to think many others) would find it incredibly freeing if there was an idiot-proof guide covering (and aggregating!) the basics involved in making a complete, theoretically publishable, stand-alone module.

Here's my pitch:

*The module contains a five minute 'adventure'. The adventure is single-player, with no character creation process. You play a pre-determined character named Bob; he's a level 5 ranger with no equipment apart from a piece of cheese. Bob is also rather smelly, so he has the 'Stench' trait.
*You start in a simple room with a locked door. In the locked room with you is a gravestone. If you use the cheese on the gravestone, a basket appears. Inside the basket is the key to the locked door. You leave the room and there's a cave entrance outside. When you enter the cave, the game ends. Adventure complete!!