Next Thread
Print Thread
#652063 01/03/19 01:40 AM
Arath3l Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
Hey,

I'm a programmer by trade, but new to Divinity Modding.

After playing through the game, I decided to install some mods, but I found a lot of them conflicted.

So I set out to merge all the conflicts. I worked through all the files in the Public Folder without issue, repackaged the lsb files when needed, etc.

I'm struggling to do the same with the files in the Mods\Story folder, as I'm faced with what looks to me is the entire dump of the modder's version of the story file, and each mod has hundreds of differences, but only a few actually calling the new functionality they supposedly introduce.

I tried generating my own goals and story div, for example, but I found their size was tiny compared to the one included in the mods, and largely incomplete.

Can someone talk me through the process of generating a full story file and goals file, which I can then modify with the changes the modder has made?

Bonus points if there's an easy way to increment the Goals down the list, or if I'm going about it all wrong, and someone can explain a better way.

Thanks guys.

~Arathel

Arath3l #652067 01/03/19 12:40 PM
L
L
Hi Arathel.

When you say "the story file", are you looking at the raw Story.Div file? This is indeed a text version of the entire Story code of the mod, and reverse engineering it into individual goals is possible but seems like a very cumbersome procedure. Diffing two mods to see what exactly each of them did seems even more cumbersome.

If you want to merge two mods, you should look at the individual goals supplied with the mod. When opening your Story editor, the ones specific to the mod have a white background whereas the ones that are inherited from a different mod have a grey one. Goals that exists both in the parent mod and the active mod are shown with a white background, and only the contents of the mod's goals are used.