Next Thread
Print Thread
#841513 17/01/23 01:47 AM
T
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
T
I am sure this has been discussed, I just couldn't find anything on (an admittedly quick) search.

I recently started playing a game and, after adding 3 members to my group, I found a fourth that I wanted active. At the point where I was going to have them join, they merely commented that they would be waiting at the camp. I then went to the camp and tried to reform my party. After several frustrating minutes, including a point where I exited camp only to find out that I wasn't prompted to form my party I finally did an internet search. While I ultimately got my party the way I wanted, it was very far from intuitive.

Other games, Baldur's gate 1-2 included, offered a dialogue box upon this type of situation happening giving the player immediate agency in who was in the party. Further, you didn't have to rest to make it happen. Pathfinder also allows you to select who comprises your party every time you leave the hub. For my two cents, I would like to see either or both of these methods added to the game. The current method isn't 'hard', but it is very clunky and not very intuitive (to me).

Also, is the party cap really going to be left at 4 members? Or is that just the current built for balance purposes? My personal preference would be 5-6 like we see in most other D&D style games.

Volunteer Moderator
Online Content
Volunteer Moderator
I agree that it would be good to have a quicker, more intuitive way to reconfigure our party, but I guess you've now worked out that you can speak to any of your current party members and ask them to leave (which will have them go to camp and wait if you're not already there) then speak to the party member you want to join you.

In terms of party size, my understanding is that four tends to be what D&D 5e campaigns are balanced around, and my expectation is that this will remain the default for BG3. I like this, but not everyone does.