Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
G
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
G
Greetings everybody. I've been playing EA BG3 since late 2021, and I've played six or seven runs as a Bard, Ranger, Paladin, and Sorcerer. All in all, I've had a blast, loved DOS2, love DnD, love BG3, but I've never given my two cents on things, so I'll throw it out there now.

Quick thoughts:
- Level 5 feels right at home for the Underdark part in the journey. Fights like spectator and Nere felt like they required a bit of gaminess to play at level 4(hiding characters, overly relying on the environment for damage, reloading for better initiative, etc.). At level 5 fireball and two attacks on martial characters even those fights out so you don't have to play in those ways while the fights still offer meaningful challenge.
- Some jankiness remains in certain dialogues. Generally it's when you're skipping dialogues and there's an animation during, text will show but characters will stop speaking.
- The game feels super point-and-click after this many runs, my deepest hope is that full release will shake things up a bit from the jump, so that things feel similar but refreshing for all of us who've tumbled through the bug reporting.
- That up-and-down the ladder thing, while still present, didn't trigger me nearly as much in the past. Idk if I've been conditioned to it or what at this point, but it didn't feel as present.
- Paladin felt a bit underwhelming to be honest. In the tabletop, paladins have always been boss killers in my mind. Maybe I just had a bunch of bad damage rolls (which is what it felt like), but it wasn't until Nere that I really slapped anything down with my paladin Tav. Probably an anomaly, but worth mentioning.
- The automaton fight in the forge feels much better. I don't know if I just got better at it, but it finally feels relatively clean compared to what felt really glitchy before