Larian Banner: Baldur's Gate Patch 9
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#850507 20/05/23 07:54 AM
Joined: Oct 2021
V
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
V
Joined: Oct 2021
Hello all! Since I currently can't check that in Early Access, I post the question on forums instead.

From what I understand, Magic Initiate after latest changes works in such way - you get 2 cantrips that scale off respective stat and upgrade with 5 / 11 lvl, 1 level 1 spell slot that is restored on long rest and can learn 1 first level spell from the class the feat is related to. This spell can be used with your own spell slots if you have them, but only at spell level 1.

Does the same rule apply if you take your own class as a magic initiate feat? For example, if a Sorcerer takes Magic Initiate: Sorcerer, can the learned spell be used only at spell level 1 or it can be upcasted?

If former, do you think they should allow upcasting in such cases? The reason for that could be that taking your own class as a magic initiate feat does not give you access to any new spells, so it could just allow to get an additional first level spell of your class that could be upcasted instead.

Last edited by Volsalex; 20/05/23 07:59 AM.
Joined: Oct 2020
Location: Liberec
veteran
Offline
veteran
Joined: Oct 2020
Location: Liberec
Originally Posted by Volsalex
This spell can be used with your own spell slots if you have them, but only at spell level 1.
I think this is incorect ...
Unless i remember something wrong, spells you get from Magic Initiate feat are given to you to use for free (without spellslot cost) once per Long Rest and thats it.
Unless the spell contains some re-cast feature by itself, like Hex do.

Originally Posted by Volsalex
Does the same rule apply if you take your own class as a magic initiate feat?
I believe you cant do that.

Last edited by RagnarokCzD; 20/05/23 08:11 AM.

I still dont understand why cant we change Race for our hirelings. frown
Lets us play Githyanki as racist as they trully are! frown
Joined: Aug 2019
enthusiast
Offline
enthusiast
Joined: Aug 2019
Crawford, the rules sage for 5e, has said the intention for the Magic Initiate feat is that one would be able to use their own spells slots to cast the 1st level spell that is gained by the feat. But, the 5e feat does not explicitly say this, so Larian implemented it in a fashion where you can only cast the spell once by Long rest. So, using the feat to add to one's 'known spells', to one's spellbook, or to one's spell list isn't really an option in BG3.

Joined: Jun 2020
veteran
Offline
veteran
Joined: Jun 2020
There is a reason that the original wording for feats/features like this was "You know the [x] spell, and can cast it once at [base level] without spending a spell slot". This wording is specific and non-frivolous: You know the spell. that is not fluff. You know the spell; you can cast spells you know using your spell slots. This is covered in the magic rules and re-covered from the other direction in the multiclassing rules.

It wasn't explicitly stated because it didn't need to be, and 5e design standards (at least when it was first devised and released) are to say exactly what needs to be said, and that things do as they say and not what they don't. when a feature tells you that you know a spell, it doesn't actually need to say that you can cast that spell using spell slots; it's baked into the spellcasting rules.

Unfortunately, in the more recent books, they've back-tracked on this principle and started to explicitly re-state elements, which in turn has had the undesired effect of causing people to think that the earlier features don't allow this; that is not (intended to be) the case.

Joined: Jun 2022
Location: outback nsw
veteran
Offline
veteran
Joined: Jun 2022
Location: outback nsw
no the charisma spells don't mix with the intel spells in any way
we don't know anything about lvl 11 but about 1/2 the lvl 5 things don't even work


Luke Skywalker: I don't, I don't believe it.
Yoda: That is why you failed.
Joined: Oct 2021
V
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
V
Joined: Oct 2021
I did an investigation and found an interesting thread.

https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/du...ou-allow-upcasting-magic-initiate-spells

Post 9 quote (taken from Sage Advice compendium, which was officially linked by Jeremy Crawford):

Quote
If you have spell slots, can you use them to cast the 1st-level spell you learn with the Magic Initiate feat?
Yes, but only if the class you pick for the feat is one of your classes. For example, if you pick sorcerer and you are a sorcerer, the Spellcasting feature for that class tells you that you can use your spell slots to cast the sorcerer spells you know, so you can use your spell slots to cast the 1st-level sorcerer spell you learn from Magic Initiate. Similarly, if you are a wizard and pick that class for the feat, you learn a 1st-level wizard spell, which you could add to your spellbook and subsequently prepare.

In short, you must follow your character’s normal spellcasting rules, which determine whether you can expend spell slots on the 1st-level spell you learn from Magic Initiate.

So, according to that, 1) you can pick your own class as Magic Initiate feat and 2) the learned spell gets added to your spell list if you pick your own class as a Magic Initiate feat.

If it does not work that way in BG3, maybe Larian should fix that.

Last edited by Volsalex; 20/05/23 12:45 PM.

Moderated by  Dom_Larian, Freddo, vometia 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5