OP Offline
stranger
Hi all, I have started playing on the below setup -

Windows 11
32GB Ram
AMD Ryzen 9 5900HX
AMD Radeon RX 6800M 12GB
Also using an SSD with 1TB storage.

I used the auto detect function in the settings menu which seemed to pick all high settings on most things, but I’m finding that the game will often stutter and the FPS seems to drop really low. Is my laptop too weak to be running in high settings at 1440p? Or could there be a background issue? I’m a novice with pc/laptops so it’s rather frustrating. Thanks for any help in advance.

B
old hand
old hand
B
The simple thing would be to reduce the settings to see if it improves things.

Volunteer Moderator
Volunteer Moderator
Are you using DirectX 11 or Vulkan (there's a selector on the launcher page). Perhaps try the other option to see if that's better.

I had a problem during early access when running the game in DX11 on Windows 11 where framerates dropped hugely. I eventually tracked the problem down to the HDR setting which was on by default. As I had no need for HDR, I disabled it which fixed the problem.

If you have this setting on and are finding the game runs okay in Vulkan but not DX11, that's one possible culprit.

"You may call it 'nonsense' if you like, but I've heard nonsense, compared with which that would be as sensible as a dictionary!"
A
stranger
stranger
A
I had a big problem with DX11 with my PC,

1080ti
32gb ram
1tb ssd

I opened up task manager and found the game was using 100% of my CPU, not much of my gpu at all and about 6gb of ram. The goblin camp area had horrific stutter.

Happily this issue went away for me using Vulkan and CPU usage was much better. No amount of fiddling with other in game settings changed a thing for me.

Byrne20 Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger