Next Thread
Print Thread
#912197 11/10/23 02:15 PM
V
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
V
I love combining arcane ability and combat prowess, so I thought the Eldritch Knight would be the best subclass for me. When I started playing though I felt as if I was behind my companions and when I played an Eldritch Knight with my friends was definitely behind them. I believe that most of this comes from how you need to spread out your stats with this class. You need a high combat stat followed up by a high constitution stat then if you want to cast spells effectively you need a high Intelligence score. I know that there is a headband that boosts a characters Intelligence up to 17 but there are so many more interesting items throughout the game that using it does not feel great.

I believe that the best way to make the Eldritch Knight more fun, would be to condense its ability score spread. If you were to change the 3rd level ability of the Eldritch Knight from what it is now to "You may use Intelligence instead of Strength or Dexterity when making attacks with your bound weapon" I believe that the class would be much more fun to play! Now I understand that power may be an issue, the current eldritch knight may be limited on purpose so that it cannot do something like cast hold person and then action surge effectively due to its lower intelligence. However Sorcerers can cast two fireballs (or two of any other spell) in a turn and Moon Druids have access to owlbear (among others). I am not saying those classes should be nerfed, I am just saying that there are already some strong things you can do in this game and I believe that allowing Eldritch Knight Fighters to fight using their Intelligence would only catch them up to the curve.

Thank you all for reading this! I hope that this change is at the very least considered.