Larian Banner: Baldur's Gate Patch 9
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Joined: Oct 2020
Z
Zress Offline OP
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
Z
Joined: Oct 2020
I am not sure why two weapon fighting is so weird. When my rogue attack with two weapons he strikes with both of them at the same time, and then I also get to use a bonus action to attack with the off-hand. Because he is a thief I get to attack with the off-hand twice.

I can't use sneak attack with my off-hand, AND off-hand attacks have less chance to hit, even though the penalty should be not to get dex-mod to damage.

Why sneak attack is an active power and not a passive power that is calculated on the first attack that hit? it's really annoying to press on the sneak attack power every time.


Joined: Sep 2017
member
Offline
member
Joined: Sep 2017
Because Sneak Attack should let players choose when to apply it. The first attack is not necessarily the one where you want to make it 'count', especially if you have more than one target on your turn.

Joined: Oct 2020
Z
Zress Offline OP
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
Z
Joined: Oct 2020
Okay, but why I can't I use my off-hand attacks for it then? and why a rogue (Thief) have 4 attacks on level 3?

Even though you have two weapons, when you use an action to attack you should use the one in the main hand, then you can chose if you want to use a bonus action for the off-hand attack. Both should be able to inflict sneak attack, AND, you shouldn't be able to use an off-hand attack if you didn't also used an attack action at the same turn. Otherwise it means that characters with off-hand get to attack with a bonus action.

Joined: Oct 2020
X
stranger
Offline
stranger
X
Joined: Oct 2020
The fast had class ability does give you a extra bonus action, but it should be limited to just using items. I am 90% sure they will change that when they can.

Joined: Mar 2020
Location: Quebec
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Mar 2020
Location: Quebec
Originally Posted by Zress
[...] Both should be able to inflict sneak attack [...]

AND, you shouldn't be able to use an off-hand attack if you didn't also used an attack action at the same turn. Otherwise it means that characters with off-hand get to attack with a bonus action.

a) The actual rules do not allow two sneak attack per turn, for obvious reasons of game balance. Will not argue for nothing on that point. It is a hardcore official rule, which DMs pretty much never change.

b) Official rule reading (by many for years) is that YOU CAN attack only with your Bonus Action offhand (but do not add Ability modifier unless you have a special feature exception). This logic does not apply to Monk's extra unarmed attack for which you must first do a normal Action attack (Monks are not in the game, but just saying for your D&D knowledge).
EDIT : I was wrong or rather the popular discussions about this on the web were wrong. You must first do the attack Action, before using your offhand.

Last edited by Baraz; 09/10/20 01:44 AM.
Joined: Oct 2020
Z
Zress Offline OP
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
Z
Joined: Oct 2020
Originally Posted by Baraz
Originally Posted by Zress
[...] Both should be able to inflict sneak attack [...]

AND, you shouldn't be able to use an off-hand attack if you didn't also used an attack action at the same turn. Otherwise it means that characters with off-hand get to attack with a bonus action.

a) The actual rules do not allow two sneak attack per turn, for obvious reasons of game balance. Will not argue for nothing on that point. It is a hardcore official rule, which DMs pretty much never change.

b) Official rule reading (by many for years) is that YOU CAN attack only with your Bonus Action offhand (but do not add Ability modifier unless you have a special feature exception). This logic does not apply to Monk's extra unarmed attack for which you must first do a normal Action attack (Monks are not in the game, but just saying for your D&D knowledge).


I am not asking to make sneak attack twice. I am asking to chose if I want to use my sneak attack on my off-hand or my main-hand.

About only attacking with off-hand. Those are the 5e rules:
"When you take the Attack Action and Attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a Bonus Action to Attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand. You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus Attack, unless that modifier is negative."

If you don't use your action to attack, you can't attack. It doesn't matter bonus action or not.

Joined: Mar 2020
Location: Quebec
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Mar 2020
Location: Quebec
Originally Posted by Zress

I am not asking to make sneak attack twice. I am asking to chose if I want to use my sneak attack on my off-hand or my main-hand.

About only attacking with off-hand. Those are the 5e rules:
"When you take the Attack Action and Attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a Bonus Action to Attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand. You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus Attack, unless that modifier is negative."

If you don't use your action to attack, you can't attack. It doesn't matter bonus action or not.

Good points. You are correct.
The Internet discussions made me believe you could use the offhand attack without first doing an attack Action, but your reading is the right one. My bad.

Last edited by Baraz; 09/10/20 03:10 PM.
Joined: Aug 2020
enthusiast
Offline
enthusiast
Joined: Aug 2020
Originally Posted by Baraz
Originally Posted by Zress
[...] Both should be able to inflict sneak attack [...]

AND, you shouldn't be able to use an off-hand attack if you didn't also used an attack action at the same turn. Otherwise it means that characters with off-hand get to attack with a bonus action.

a) The actual rules do not allow two sneak attack per turn, for obvious reasons of game balance. Will not argue for nothing on that point. It is a hardcore official rule, which DMs pretty much never change.

b) Official rule reading (by many for years) is that YOU CAN attack only with your Bonus Action offhand (but do not add Ability modifier unless you have a special feature exception). This logic does not apply to Monk's extra unarmed attack for which you must first do a normal Action attack (Monks are not in the game, but just saying for your D&D knowledge).
EDIT : I was wrong or rather the popular discussions about this on the web were wrong. You must first do the attack Action, before using your offhand.


Agreed on a) but you're wrong on b).

General Rule: You can only make a Bonus Action attack if you used your Action to make an Attack.

Specific Rule: Berserker Barbarian, etc.

Joined: Mar 2020
Location: Quebec
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Mar 2020
Location: Quebec
Originally Posted by Isaac Springsong
Originally Posted by Baraz
[...]
b) Official rule reading (by many for years) is that YOU CAN attack only with your Bonus Action offhand (but do not add Ability modifier unless you have a special feature exception). This logic does not apply to Monk's extra unarmed attack for which you must first do a normal Action attack (Monks are not in the game, but just saying for your D&D knowledge).
EDIT : I was wrong or rather the popular discussions about this on the web were wrong. You must first do the attack Action, before using your offhand.

Agreed on a) but you're wrong on b).

General Rule: You can only make a Bonus Action attack if you used your Action to make an Attack.

Specific Rule: Berserker Barbarian, etc.

Funny story is you quote me also saying "EDIT : I was wrong ..." laugh My post right after states that Zress was correct and I was wrong.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5