Originally Posted by Warlocke
Nope, light weapons only until you get the feat that allows any one handed weapon.

“Two-Weapon Fighting
When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand. You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.”

https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/phb/combat#TwoWeaponFighting

Here is the Dual Wielder feat:

“You master fighting with two weapons, gaining the following benefits:

You gain a +1 bonus to AC while you are wielding a separate melee weapon in each hand.
You can use two-weapon fighting even when the one-handed melee weapons you are wielding aren't light.
You can draw or stow two one-handed weapons when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one.”


you are correct then. I missed it or been playing with the old 3.5 rule house ruled for to long. Sorry for false info I'll edit my post.

of course I'll be adding the 5e way to the list of dumb things about 5e.