Originally Posted by fallenj
Isn't grabbing something out of a pocket a free action in 5e? I don't see the problem.


Combat actions:

Use an Object
You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of an attack. When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action. This action is also useful when you want to interact with more than one object on your turn.

Some people allow using a healing potion as a Bonus Action but that a house rule, as written, using potions, scrolls, eating food, etc should be a full action.

Just think about it, you are looking in a pouch or pack to find X and then use it in like what, a second or you can still cast spell, attack, whatever?