No no guys, we are sidetracking a bit from the point.

When it comes to mathematics with Arithmetic, the answers should be cut & dry.

Although, I will concede 1 point, since it's a game.

Also, at this point, I don't really care about the level 4 rogue should get 2D6 or 5D10 or a 100D20s. I leave that to Larian & D&D 5th edition. Although our feedback on that should reach them for what's it's worth.

Now to my point, look here:
[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]

Without having to re-write the operation, within the operation, you don't round number, period. That's a math rule. BUT the output of the operation, THAT you can apply that D&D rule about removing the decimal - I concede that point.

As level 4, I would have roll any odd numbers for the "1D6 piercing" and the output would have been with a decimal.

Ex.:
Say I roll 5 instead of 4:
5 * ((4 - 1)/2 + 1) = 12.5 --> ok throw the D&D card and make it 12 instead of 13. I walk away as a player, unhappy of losing 1 point of damage and that's it, no big deal.

Now the part in the middle of the math operation "((4 - 1)/2 + 1)" CAN NOT be rounded until the operation is complete.

Is my point clearer now ?

Last edited by Starlights; 23/01/21 05:20 PM.

Arguing with an engineer is like wrestling with a pig in the mud. After a bit, you realize the pig enjoys it.