It's 30 feet, and it burns an extra spell slot; it has literally never caused any kind of offensive edge in any combat situation in any game I've ever been in, certainly not one that is worth more than the resources spent to do it.

Describe a situation where what you gain from that over doing something similar without the misty, is worth substantially more than the extra resources you spend (an additional 2nd level spell slot) to do it.

Have you got any other examples? Because I'll say again, one spell is not enough justification for creating a counter-intuitive arbitrary rule with completely stupid and asinine results from its enforcement that punishes literally every spell caster everywhere.

Want to see an example of how silly that particular rule is?

It means that you can have a high level fighter-wizard climb a 30 foot ladder and then cast meteor swarm (9th level spell slot), have an enemy attempt to counterspell them, have that same wizard counterspell the enemy's counterspell, with a 7th level slot just in case, finish casting meteor swarm, then action-surge and cast an 8th level disintegrate with impunity because the other caster already used their reaction. (Net turn: Fighter-Wizard successfully cast a 9th, 8th and 7th level spell over the course of one turn)

BUT, because of the arbitrariness of that specific rule, that same wizard might first try to misty step up the ladder instead of climbing, only to have the enemy caster counterspell them.... now our high level fighter-wizard CANNOT counterspell the enemy caster - that would be casting a spell that is not a cantrip with a casting time of one action on their turn after all, and they already cast a bonus action spell (even though it's being countered). So their misty step fizzles.... The wizard CANNOT try to cast either meteor swarm or disintegrate, or even a little 1st level magic missile with their action, and moreover, they CANNOT action surge in the hopes of casting at least one of those spells, because of this rule; that entirely fresh action granted by an independent class ability is still being crippled, because of that bonus action spell.... so the wizard is forced instead to either end their turn having successfully cast nothing at all, or possibly tossing a cantrip. (Net turn: Fighter-Wizard successfully cast 0 leveled spells)

I've never seen a fair defence of this rule existing put forward that is not better answered by fixing the edge-case situation, rather than punishing all spellcasters everywhere, and why this rule should exist, in defiance of the actual listed part of your turn that it takes up being the only limitation (like literally everything else in 5e).

Last edited by Niara; 04/03/21 02:21 PM.