Identify does NOT reveal a curse, as per the rules. That's one thing it specifically does not do.
Where in the rules is that mentioned?
https://www.dndbeyond.com/spells/identifyYou choose one object that you must touch throughout the casting of the spell. If it is a magic item or some other magic-imbued object, you learn its properties and how to use them, whether it requires attunement to use, and how many charges it has, if any. You learn whether any spells are affecting the item and what they are. If the item was created by a spell, you learn which spell created it.
If you instead touch a creature throughout the casting, you learn what spells, if any, are currently affecting it.
Nothing in the spell description online or in the player handbook which says that Identify does not reveal curses. If it's in the DMG rules only, I still think that the Identify spell description should at least contain a caveat such as "The Identify spell might not reveal a curse on the item at the discretion of the DM". Without a disclaimer such as that, I feel like the rule is unfair and punishes players who try to take reasonable precautions.
As an aside, under your interpretation where Identify does not reveal curses, how is one supposed to know if an item is cursed without attuning to it and becoming cursed?