Print Thread
M
Madduin Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
M
Hello and thanks for reading this.

I am playing on PC and I am having trouble positioning the camera. I am new to this type of game and I'm hoping I'm just missing something. Say my character is on the ground but the enemy I want to target is on top of a building. If it's too high I can't position the camera to click on the enemy (I just realized I could probably use the portrait in the turn order area, but still...). Instead I have to explore the area hoping to find a hill or something to steer the camera up it. Instead of zooming in and out, is there a way to zoom up a down?

I appreciate you.

veteran
veteran
Sadly, you are not 'missing' any particular trick. Larian's camera controls and the way the camera interacts with their world is just plain bad. It's a thing you have to actively fight in order to play the game. Going into tactical mode rarely helps, and it doesn't solve any of the major failings of the system which literally handicap your ability to play in ways that it should not (such as being unable to target things on different levels, even though you absolutely can, and enemies can do it to you just fine).

Mayn have discussed and reported on this, and we're hoping it will be fixed, but it's not even really been acknowledged by Larain at all, as of yet.

enthusiast
enthusiast
Yes, the camera control is definitely a struggle. Using WASD keys for camera control, and clicking to move, takes some getting used to for most players. People are accustomed to using WASD to move their characters in most other games, and using the mouse to control the camera and use spells etc.

What I do to make BG3's controls more bearable, is first of all assign Camera Rotate to Right Mouse Button, so you can control it a little better.