Gygax created the Drow, so it's not exactly totally on RA Salvatore if certain tropes are baked in from that source material or from Tolkien (who Gygax was cribbing) Probably the Maeglin and Eöl stuff in the Silmarillion, since they were kinda proto-Drow I guess? Or from even older sources in iceberg folklore, since I'm sure those are all over the place.

There are also the illustrators who visualized the Drow, and who gave them much of their look that we think of from the 80s. They probably have some responsibility.

I'm sure they could hire Salvatore to write some new material if they really wanted to. Or just incorporate some stuff from his latest book? They could also hire Helen Young as an editor I guess, since she's clearly hit the books on this one and must have played Dragon Age. She might sign on? They're both white though, so I don't know. Maybe it would be better to just, you know, hire more black writers and artists and developers instead? I mean that's the simplest path forward.

Clearly Salvatore would prefer to reinvent the Drow archetype so that its not so inherently evil or dark by having more varied factions within it. He seems to like the idea that Drizzt gave people a black hero to identify with in D&D. But from what he says about it, it seems clear that wasn't his initial plan or intention for the character. I think he was just taking his cues from his fantasy idols, and didn't really think about it. I don't imagine he thought all that much about the blackness when he was writing that stuff. He was probably writing about what he knows, which one imagines is mainly white dude from Boston type stuff. But who knows?

Maybe they will hire Idris Elba to play Drizzt in a movie or something? And just seal the deal.