Just for people's consideration and information during the discussion:
In core rules, the Monk's deflect missiles is a reaction, and they first attempt to reduce the damage, so the progression is:

- Roll to hit
- If hit then damage is calculated
- Then monk uses Deflect Missiles; reduces damage by their roll plus modifiers.
- IF damage is reduced to Zero, Monk catches projectile if they can reasonably hold it in one hand.
- IF monk catches projectile, Monk has the *Option* of spending a Ki point to immediately make an attack with the projectile at any other creature in range - including the original attacker if they wish.