Originally Posted by mrfuji3
Originally Posted by 5e rules
If the spell is on your class’s spell list but of a higher level than you can normally cast, you must make an ability check using your Spellcasting ability to determine whether you cast it successfully. The DC equals 10 + the spell’s level. On a failed check, the spell disappears from the scroll with no other Effect.
Notably, the check made is an ability check using your Spellcasting ability (doesn't include Proficiency), not an Arcana/Religion check.

Mhmm that’s because you can only cast spells on your class list. We’re talking about a compromise between that and everyone being able to cast any scroll.