Originally Posted by Archaven
On topic, not familiar with dnd5e. Can we equip a light crossbow on left hand and say a dagger on the right? If it's allowed by the rules, can we shoot first then move to melee range and poke with a dagger? Or will we get an option that we can move to the target in melee range and poke the dagger twice? (If we have 2 actions)
With the Crossbow Expert Feat, you can do this with a hand crossbow. The melee weapon can be any one handed weapon - it doesn't have to be a dagger specifically, or even light. But yes, you could shoot and then move into melee*. You can't do this with a Light Crossbow because it requires 2 hands to use.

If you have the Extra Attack ability (level 5 fighter-paladin-barbarian-ranger abilities) or something else that grants you an additional attack or action, then yes you can move then poke with the dagger twice. And you'll still be able to use your bonus action to fire your Hand Crossbow (again assuming you have that feat).

*I think the most technical possible reading of the rules implies you have to do the melee attack first, but eh in general, order of actions doesn't matter. Especially in BG3's likely implementation of the rules.