Which is actually how it is supposed to work. Previously this was wrong and not according to 5e rules. Now it works right.
Frightened - A frightened creature has disadvantage on ability checks and attack rolls while the source of its fear is within line of sight. The creature can't willingly move closer to the source of its fear.
If you become frightened yourself you can still attack at disadvantage, but you can't move at all. While not 100% correct, as you should be able to at least move away - it' better than it was.
Previous version of frightened was WAY OP. You get frightened and move away forcing yourself to take AOO from everyone. That's bullshit.