I've thought about this a bit further and I think this is how I will more clearly state my case, at least for how Hex works in BG3.
Hex is placed against an attribute, therefore it seems logical to me that any action that is effected by that attribute will be negatively impacted by the hex. So if Wisdom is hexed, then any action that uses a check against the Wisdom attribute should be effected, which to me, would seem to include the saving throw IF the spell that is used is affected by the targets attribute. It's the attribute that is effected and determines if the spell succeeds.
I absolutely can be wrong about this and it certainly would not be the first time, but as a programmer, unless there is a clear reason to program in an exception, you want to avoid exceptions at all costs. This is just my interpretation of a rule that isn't as clearly written as it could be.