Originally Posted by Qoray
Counterspell is cast as a reaction, so you can cast it normally after casting shield of faith.

I'm not posting for the good of my health; I'm posting to inform and to help share accurate information and correct misconceptions. You're free to take it or leave it, but what you're doing here is actually making the point and being a prime illustration of the fact that the BA spell rule only serves to cause confusion and misunderstanding while giving no real value for its stricture. You have shown that you don't actually understand the rule or how it works, but are very prepared to be 'confidently incorrect' about it; that's part of my point and thank you for showcasing it so perfectly - it's a bad rule.

The rule is:

Originally Posted by PHB, Ch 10 'Spellcasting', section 'casting a spell', subsection 'casting time', subsection 'Bonus Action'
"Bonus Action

A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action."

It's a tiny by-line, buried deep within the spellcasting section, but it's very specific and clear, adding onto the simplified statements from MrFuji:

Level 9 action spell + level 8 reaction + level 8 action spell = Completely fine.
Level 1 bonus action spell + level 1 action spell = Not fine.
Level 1 bonus action spell + level 1 reaction spell = Not fine.

More ridiculous:

Bonus action level 1 spell + Action cantrip = Fine!
Bonus action cantrip + Action Level 1 spell = Not Fine!
Bonus action cantrip + Reaction Level 1 spell = Not Fine!
Bonus action cantrip + Bonus Action Reaction spell = Not Fine!

The examples were parallels that illustrate the ridiculousness of the rule - how it does not, in fact, do anything to even remotely affect legitimate power balance concerns, and only limits in seemingly arbitrary ways, when something as silly as 'doing it the other way around' circumvents the rule perfectly legally.

You can counterspell a counterspell directed at your own Action spell because they are all action spells, none of them are bonus action spells, and so they can all be cast on your turn without limitation.

If someone counterspells your Action Cure Wounds, you can counterspell their counterspell.
If someone counterspells you Bonus Action Healing Word, however, you're screwed: you've now cast a spell as a bonus action, and so you cannot counterspell the counterspell directed at you, because, as stated "You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action." - and it is the same turn still, and your counterspell is not a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.

Quote
Allowing everybody to cast multiple levelled spells in a turn just buffs casters

Everyone can already cast multiple levelled spells on their turn in 5e perfectly legally - that's the point. The rule specifically only interacts with bonus action spells, and there are relatively few of them, the majority of them completely non game-breaking at all. There is one single serious break issue amongst bonus action spells - one spell, or spell combination, that would need to be tweaked for the sake of fairness; the rest break or unbalance nothing, no matter how you combine them. That one spell combination, alongside a rewrite for Quicken spell to incorporate the BA limitation - since that metamagic specifically deals with bonus actions, and is the main issue that people are afraid of (quicken to double cast various breakable action spell combos etc.) - is what is needed to be tweaked to make the whole situation clearer, cleaner and more player-friendly for understanding, while not upsetting balance or fairness.

==

This is quite off topic to the discussion of handling extra attack. I apologise for derailing.