You know what, I realize now that I didn't properly read the issue stated above. Mea culpa!

However, I've read the rules gain and took into consideration the explanation given in the Sage Advice article and you guys are correct, the spell shouldn't do damage when creating the AOE on top of the creatures or moving it onto them.

Meaning, BG3 doesn't follow the RAW for Moonbeam.

So, yes, this should indeed be corrected and is currently OP because of it!

Again, my apologies, I didn't pay attention enough.