Originally Posted by MelivySilverRoot
You know what, I realize now that I didn't properly read the issue stated above. Mea culpa!

However, I've read the rules gain and took into consideration the explanation given in the Sage Advice article and you guys are correct, the spell shouldn't do damage when creating the AOE on top of the creatures or moving it onto them.

Meaning, BG3 doesn't follow the RAW for Moonbeam.

So, yes, this should indeed be corrected and is currently OP because of it!

Again, my apologies, I didn't pay attention enough.

No worries! I only went looking for the additional guidance because you could take the RAW two ways, and obviously it’s caused confusion in more people than us otherwise there’d have been no need for the clarification in the Sage Advice column smile


"You may call it 'nonsense' if you like, but I've heard nonsense, compared with which that would be as sensible as a dictionary!"