Larian Banner: Baldur's Gate Patch 9
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Odieman Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi
Dear Larian, Im a veteran D&D tabletop player. I have played clerics and Paladins among other classes. Clerics and Paladins get their divine powers through the deity they have sworn to follow. Now whilst Paladins are not as strict on it (rules as written) its quite obvious where they get their powers from. You dont just walk up to a temple, or bow down in the woods and swear an oath into thin air and get powers. Those powers are given by a deity (or deities possibly in some cases, example a cleric/paladin serving the Triad (the gods Ilmater, Tyr and Torm).

I have played through your game 2 full times and another 2 halfway. And Im loving every second.
However Paladin is my favourite class from tabletop, Ive been looking forward to playing it. Today was finally the day I was going to try out the Paladin, but to my horror I saw there was no choice for deity like Cleric. This whilst not game breaking, is certainly immersion breaking and then some for me.

I therefore plead you to add that at least as an option for the Paladin class. Or alternatively and even better yet, add it as a general option for all classes (like the cleric). The gods in Faerun are real in that world whether or not the people there believe in/worship them or not. And the people in faerun actively offer prayers to different gods.

Im an atheist in RL so no religious bias on this btw. I do however often roleplay clerics/Paladins in rpgs among others, and when I do I go into it 100%. To me oathbreaking is not just breaking the oath youve sworn, it can also be breaking the tenets of the deity. Example: Desecrate fallen enemies (Tyr).