Originally Posted by Piff
Yes. most ranged weapons have either the two-handed or loading property, which means they need both hands for either wielding or re-loading, but slings are the exception, and they only need one hand, leaving your other hand free to have something else in it (my recommendation would be a shield, or use the Magic Stone cantrip).

Cheers! Do you happen to know where this is clarified in the 5e rules? Slings have the “Ammunition” property, which specifies that “you need a free hand to load a one-handed weapon” but I can’t find where it is stated that slings are exempt from this.


"You may call it 'nonsense' if you like, but I've heard nonsense, compared with which that would be as sensible as a dictionary!"