I just checked and dual-wielding works perfectly fine for me.
Rapiers however cannot be dual-wielded, as they are a Finesse weapon but are not a Light weapon. You need a trait at level 4 to specifically dual-wield with such weapons, otherwise you can only have a shield.
Good to know, thanks! That answers my question. I really didn't think it could be a bug because others would have mentioned it by now. My fault for not being used to the 5e ruleset most likely. Will stick with the rapier as a single weapon until I get to level 4.