Originally Posted by JandK
Originally Posted by JackTheReaper
Originally Posted by Derpie
you are not learning the spells on lvl up but rather righting them down into your book. since you have 6th lvl slots you can prepare 6th lvl spells meaning you can learn 6th lvl spells. Pg. 114 has the rules for copying wizard spells into your spell book all it cares about is if you can prepare the spells of that lvl and on the same page when it lists preparing spells it states that you can prepare any spell that you have slots to cast.
To be fair i think that both of you are right. I´ll try to explain why as I just rechecked the PhB:

- As far as multiclassing is concerned, according to PhB if you have a char level 4 ranger/level 3 wizard you will have up to 4 level 1 spell slots, 3 level 2 spell slots and 2 level 3 spell slots, but, you obviously don´t know any spells of that level from any of those classes while leveling, since you didn´t reach the proper level.

- However, in the page 164-165 doesn´t specify the spells learnt from scrolls, so, we come back to each classes explanation for that as Derpie mentioned, and according to that, if you are a wizard and have spell slots of certain level, you can learn scrolls from that level.

- As the spell slots combine between caster levels, and as a wizard particularly, you could indeed learn from scrolls the same level spells as the level of your maximun spell slot, but you won´t learnt them "naturally" when leveling up.

It´s kind of tricky actually, but since the multiclass section doesn´t talk about scrolls, we must guide ourselves with the classes rule section.

This seems like a fair and measured take on the subject.

I get not liking the mechanic, but is there some actual rule that disputes this? I mean disputes it in a calm and analytic manner, free of aggression?


“Spells Known and Prepared. You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class. If you are a ranger 4/wizard 3, for example, you know three 1 st-level ranger spells based on your levels in the ranger class. As a 3rd-level wizard, you know three wizard cantrips, and your spellbook contains ten wizard spells, two of which (the two you gained when you reached 3rd level as a wizard) can be 2nd-level spells. If your Intelligence is 16, you can prepare six wizard spells from your spellbook.

I keep trying to show you this paragraph copied - word for word from Pg 164 of the PHB to show you that you cannot learn a spell from a scroll for Wizard for a spell level you don't have as a Wizard. A Level 1 Wizard could learn all the first level spells they want as a Wizard. They could not learn 2nd level or up spells.

So a 4 Ranger/3 Wizard could learn all the 1st and 2nd level spell scrolls for Wizard, but could only prepare Six Wizard spells if your Int was 16.

There are a lot of conversations that back this up:

https://www.reddit.com/r/dndnext/comments/mkh8km/can_i_cast_prepared_wizard_spells_with_higher/

https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/dungeons-dragons-discussion/rules-game-mechanics/73032-multiclass-wizard-spells#:~:text=Because%20the%20Wizard%20and%20Sorcerer,level%20spell%20slot%20to%20use.

https://rpg.stackexchange.com/quest...pellbook-as-a-sorcerer-wizard-multiclass

https://www.enworld.org/threads/cou...everything-unique-about-a-wizard.678509/

To say otherwise is to deeply misunderstand the differences in how Wizards and Sorcerers understand spells.


Blackheifer