Originally Posted by Imora DalSyn
Originally Posted by Halycon Styxland
Originally Posted by Annoyed Player
In 5e tabletop a level 1 wizard, can’t learn higher level spell slots.

Wait, what ?

D&D5 PHB, Page 114, Section "Your Spellbook":

"Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher [i.e. not a Cantrip], you can add it to your spellbook if its a level for which you have spell slots and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it."

Larian faithfully implemented what D&D5 defines.

Think he means lvl 1 wizards can't learn say, lvl 3 spells. I have a Fireball scroll on Gale atm at lv 4 and he can't scribe it to his book as he doesn't have lv 3 spell slots.

Why yes, indeed.

But if he was a level 1 Wizard level 4 Cleric he could since he, according to the D&D5 multiclass rules, would now have level 3 spell slots.

Sorry that this was apparently poorly explained by me.