Originally Posted by Halycon Styxland
This statement already proves that you dont undestand how 5e works.

On the contrary, I'm afraid - it seems that most people in this thread understand how 5e works better than you, at least on this particular situation.

You have been provided with the direct quoted references already, and the rules are very clear. You can only scribe spells that you can prepare, and you can only prepare spells based on your wizard level alone, as though you were a single level wizard of that level. It gives a clear example of a 3rd level wizard multiclass what would have 3rd level slots, but who cannot prepare 3rd level spells - it's right there in the book. They cannot prepare third level spells, and by the rules in the book, that means they also cannot scribe 3rd level spells into their book.

Quote
And I repeat myself, but Page 114 is not unclear of the meaning. You can learn spells from scrolls if you have slots for it.


Incorrect. The quote has been given multiple times now - it's based on your ability to prepare those spells as a wizard. The quote is explicit and clear.

In the very initial publication of the book in 2014, the text read as some have mentioned, talking about spell slots, but it was swiftly errataed to correct that error, and all publication since have had the correct text. I know it can be difficult to accept when you are incorrect about something - especially if it was somethign you were very sure about and have fought for multiple times, but in this case, Halycon, I'm sorry, but you are incorrect and mistaken. Your information and belief may be based on a pre-errata copy of the PHB, and that's not your fault... but the errata was made to correct an error in publication, not make a change tot he rules; this is a situation that has been ruled on many, many times including officially; the current text is the correct text.

You can read the PHB Errata here: https://media.wizards.com/2018/dnd/downloads/PH-Errata.pdf

Spells slots don't have class, that is correct - any spell slots you gain from any class's spellcasting feature combine as described in the multiclassing rules, and can be used to cast all of your spells, barring specific case exceptions, but you do have class spells; when you learn a spell as a wizard, it's a wizard spell for you (and uses your wizard DC), even if that spell is also on the sorcerer list and you have sorcerer levels. You can use your higher level spell slots to upcast other spells, if you are unable to learn or prepare spells of that level - which will invariably happen in a multiclass full caster, and is something that the PHB also calls out.

The rules on this matter are very clear and quite explicit, and I'm sorry but your understanding is mistaken.

==

Glad to hear Larian have acknowledge it as unintended, Blackheifer, we'll see how long it takes them to fix it ^.^