Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Lyricus Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
Trigger Warning: Heavy discussion of SA

Preface
I'm afraid to post this. It's hard opening up when a story's subject hits close to home. It leaves me open to criticism that I'm overreacting- that "it's just a story." I'd like to request openness and empathy while reading this. I tried posting about this subject on Reddit before and maybe that was my first mistake. These forums seem a bit kinder, though I'm still afraid of how people will take this. I don't mean to ruin anyone's fun, and I'm sorry.

An introduction to myself- I am an adult male victim of CSA and just general SA. I speak from experience but also from a wealth of literature on the subject of SA. I am by no means an academic expert, but I've studied the subject in an effort to make sense of myself and my life.

I've seen this mentioned in a different thread, but the thread's main topic was not about this. I wanted to draw direct attention to this topic and will try my best to respond.

Subject
In ACT III, Halsin has a dialogue about his past as a sex slave for a drow couple. That, in itself, is not a bad thing to write a story about. Astarion's story is a very good example of that kind of story and I appreciate it. However, how the scene is written and handled does not come off as respectful.

To be blunt; he speaks and remembers his time as a sex slave at least half-fondly. It is not in good taste and has made me not want to interact with the character at all. People often have conflicted feelings about their trauma, yes. This isn't a great way to portray that. Instead, it feels like a glamorization of a very real and terrible thing. Or at the very least it feels very dismissive or jokey.