Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
P
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
P
Hey everyone. I'm new to the game. I'm having fun playing a short sword and shield fighter. For my next character I'd like to play a rogue. I like short swords but I don't like duel wield and a shield doest seem appropriate, unless there are bucklers in the game.

So my question is am I limiting myself too much with just a short sword, or can that actually be helpful to have one hand free?

Thanks everyone.

veteran
veteran
The only benefit is if you have the dueling trait for +2 damage, otherwise how much not having an offhand ends up mattering depends solely on your build and what you want to achieve with the character.

For example; I have a character with certain limitations imposed upon her to fully maintain specifically envisioned roleplay, yet despite the limitations she is incredibly versatile and powerful enough that they do not end up hindering her combat efficiency in any meaningful way. Some of these limitations are that she may only wear clothes/robes, exclusively use a specific longsword for the entire game and never ever use any bows.

So there is no benefit in doing so, but it also may not necessarily become a hindrance in any way that matters. It all depends on your build and what you want from your character.

B
old hand
old hand
B
No, there are no Bucklers here.
Being AC obsessed I always go either Sword&Board or Two Handed Weapon. But, as stated above, the game does not penalise minor kinks smile

T
enthusiast
enthusiast
T
There are no bucklers and there is no purpose to single wielding outside of a single Legendary Rapier you get in Act 3.

Beyond that, there's no purpose for having an empty hand. Spells don't require somatic components so you can have your hands full no problem. Duel wielding doesn't penalize your attack. Duelling fighting style still works even when using a Shield.