Next Thread
Print Thread
P
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
P
Hello everyone

I just started Baldur's Gate 3 and this is my first time playing the series.

I am really enjoying the game so far.

So let me get something straight

every time when your in a fight and you go to deal damage a D & D die is being rolled behind the scenes?

every time an enemy is about to deal damage to a member of your party a D & D die is being rolled behind the scenes?

just trying to understand combat mechanics.

Thank you

J
enthusiast
enthusiast
J
Yes, indeed. The game tries to stick to the DND 5e combat system (with certain liberties taken). The success percentage you get when you plan attacks are indeed based on the chances you'd have of succeeding in that attack if you were playing real DND.

Since you are new, I'll also give a few tips I give my friends who play for the first time:

Long rest often, otherwise you'll miss a lot of camp content. You can rest without using supplies, too. Nothing bad will happen if you long rest even a thousand times in a row, so don't worry about that, but if you don't long rest much at all you will miss out on some scenes permanently.
My rule of thumb as to when to long rest is when you've wasted your short rests and are short on spell slots in your party, or after important story beats.
Use F5 to auto-save and F8 to load your last save.
Talk to your companions after events that you think were important enough (esp related to other companions or story events), they often will have things to say and you won't be notified with the "!" on their head so you'll need to check manually.

P
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
P
Thank you ! I appreciate the advise

addict
addict