#951017 26/09/24 01:21 AM
A
Amanar Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
A
Hello,

I am a beginner playing a custom party on Balanced mode. I basically bult my party from a light role-playing perspective. My main is a barbarian based on Conan, I have a rogue, a cleric, and a wizard. I basically pick skills, feats, and spells based on best guys as I play. I really do not like researching the meta for best builds.
Even though I don't want to chase the meta, I have seen a l0t of videos on how fun and good Bards are. I am slightly considering changing my half-elf to a Bard but I need her to be my lock-picker, sneaker, and sometimes assassin.

My question is: Can a Bard make a good thief?

Thank you for any help,
Amanar

Amanar #951018 26/09/24 01:35 AM
veteran
veteran
in many ways a bard is better... have a single thief level will open anything you find before act 3
[Linked Image from gog.com]

also as you don't know the game understand Larian design their games that the player should be the party face for any talking/ skill tests... it is pssible to work around that but much better to just go with it at first

Luke Skywalker: I don't, I don't believe it.
Yoda: That is why you failed.
Amanar #951020 26/09/24 01:49 AM
veteran
veteran
Bards are pretty much the best at being a thief because unlike any other class;

• They get to almost immediately max out their Sleight Of Hand by picking a proficiency at level 1 and at level 3 picking an Expertise.
  • Have access to Disguise, Minor Illusion, and Invisibility.

Disguise while pickpocketing does not drop NPC attitudes, Minor Illusion is useful if the target is being watched over by other NPCs, and Invisibility is useful when combat triggers if a pickpocket attempt fails.