Larian Studios
Posted By: Morbo BD an SP2 - 18/08/04 08:47 AM
Any one tested this yet. Would be nice to know if BD works with SP2 since theire are a copple of programa's that act funky on SP2.
Posted By: ARabbitofHabit Re: BD an SP2 - 18/08/04 10:46 AM
Quote
Any one tested this yet. Would be nice to know if BD works with SP2 since theire are a copple of programa's that act funky on SP2.


Runs on mine WinXP pro sp2.
Posted By: Morbo Re: BD an SP2 - 19/08/04 11:40 AM
k thats nice to know (*can download SP2 with peace of mind now*)

What about <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/div.gif" alt="" /> <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/question.gif" alt="" />
Posted By: Stridar Re: BD an SP2 - 21/08/04 02:07 AM
I'm going to wait awhile before downloading SP2. Think of all the hardware, software problems that are going to come from this. Plus all the upgrades to fix flaws in SP2.

Posted By: Morbo Re: BD an SP2 - 21/08/04 07:29 AM
yep theire is a lot of software (& games) that don't work or work "funky" after SP2.
Posted By: Abanyir Re: BD an SP2 - 21/08/04 11:07 AM
From what I can see unless you really want the new features (security control panel etc) there is not a lot of reason to upgrade to SP2 unless you have no idea about PC security...

If you have another firewall, some decent anti-virus, software that will take care of spy/adware and don't use Internet Explorer/Outlook then you should be fine without it until all the problem are sorted.
Posted By: Morbo Re: BD an SP2 - 21/08/04 11:49 AM
I'm carefull for

teh h4x0r$

If your in my school you have to be. <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/biggrin.gif" alt="" /> <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/badsmile2.gif" alt="" />
Posted By: Nemisis_Dragon Re: BD an SP2 - 21/08/04 12:11 PM
The german version of <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beyond.gif" alt="" /> runs on my WinXP Pro + SP2 system without problems too.
Posted By: Drealmer Re: BD an SP2 - 25/08/04 09:12 AM
<img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/exclamation.gif" alt="" /> IMPORTANT <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/exclamation.gif" alt="" />

The Windows XP Service Pack 2 [color:"red"]BETA[/color] is reported as being not totally compatible with StarForce, so be sure you use a [color:"red"]FINAL[/color] version of Windows XP Service Pack 2 if you encounter problems with the game.
Posted By: Morbo Re: BD an SP2 - 25/08/04 09:41 AM
tnx


PS: that dilbert ava realy suits you <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/biggrin.gif" alt="" /> <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/up.gif" alt="" />
Posted By: Lady_Rain Re: BD an SP2 - 26/08/04 09:44 AM
No problem with any of my games so far... but Eeeeeeeeeeeeeek what have they done to it!!!!!

also i am running spybot S&D as a added security feature (amazing what difference this program makes - since i own a internet café, you can immagine how much strain my computers take)and it went mad closing vulnerabilities (and as far as i know, it only knows about old vulnerabilities, i havent seen a new update for it yet to include the newly found ones) so i am patiently waiting for them to find new ones.....
Posted By: Stridar Re: BD an SP2 - 26/08/04 12:25 PM
Perhaps Microsoft is trying to get people to buy Virtual PC (VPC). This way you can run all your old Window versions and even DOS. <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/think.gif" alt="" />

So if you have a problem with XP and SP2 you can go to a different version of windows. Clever.

Think I'll look further in VPC. That way I can run my old Wizardy games and Ultima.

<img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/biggrin.gif" alt="" />
Posted By: Lady_Rain Re: BD an SP2 - 26/08/04 05:08 PM
<img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ROFL.gif" alt="" /> <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ROFL.gif" alt="" /> <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ROFL.gif" alt="" /> <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ROFL.gif" alt="" /> <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ROFL.gif" alt="" /> <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ROFL.gif" alt="" /> <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ROFL.gif" alt="" /> <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ROFL.gif" alt="" /> <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ROFL.gif" alt="" />

While you at it, will you try to find my old time favourites??? like Paganitzu and Monte Zuma's Revenge???

<img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ROFL.gif" alt="" /> <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ROFL.gif" alt="" /> <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ROFL.gif" alt="" /> <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ROFL.gif" alt="" /> <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ROFL.gif" alt="" /> <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ROFL.gif" alt="" /> <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ROFL.gif" alt="" /> <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ROFL.gif" alt="" /> <img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ROFL.gif" alt="" />
Posted By: ShipNC Re: BD an SP2 - 30/08/04 11:57 AM
Started running SP2 on Win XP Home, last Wed-Thur. So far no probs with BD or my online game, Planetside.

Quick question for the person with Internet Cafe who said they're running Spybot. Did you keep getting msgs from Spybot about attempts to change 2 registry entries after SP2 was running? I kept getting 1 about changing some homepage value to Hex 00 and another one I forget now. Both looked like they had something to do with the SP2 install but I just kept getting them until I told Spybot to "remember this decision". Just wondering thx.
Posted By: Lady_Rain Re: BD an SP2 - 31/08/04 08:01 AM
I allowed those changes the first time around.... its only a temporary change... it gets changed back almost immediately.... after than i have had no more hassles with spybot, other than the initial check where it had to close the DSO exploits (AGAIN) and it came up with some active x troubles too....

But the webpage changes were temporary.... i presume they are similar to the wextrack clean 0 and wextrack clean 1 you get while installing programs...

© Larian Studios forums