Larian Studios
Posted By: JandK What are your favorite builds? - 25/11/21 05:36 AM
Any interesting builds you have or equipment combos worth mentioning? What's your favorite character class/build?

I recently started playing a Githyanki Wizard, and I'm impressed.

At 4th level, the character has an 18 Int and an 18 Str. Wears medium armor, wields a great sword.

I suppose I was most surprised by the number of hit points the character walks around with.

I start the day off with a 2nd level casting of Armor of Agathys, then immediately replenish that slot, giving me a full amount of spell slots available for casting.

Because of the armor spell, I end up with my normal hit points (26, I believe), along with 22 extra temporary hit points. That's 10 from the armor spell, and I suppose 12 more coming from being an abjuration wizard.

So 48 hit points, plenty of spells, 16 AC without enhancement, the ability to jump all over the place, and a great sword if I want to get close up, along with Athletics to resist being shoved.

Not too shabby, right?
Posted By: Niathlak Re: What are your favorite builds? - 25/11/21 09:46 AM
oh, wow.. Githyanki have prof with medium armor? Nice. Guess you can skip mage armor then!

I personally spent the most time with my Drow fiend lock with Eldritch Blast funtimes.
Hex + scorching ray=death + shatter for aoe + misty step for getting away if needed and armor of agathyss for extra hp.
Now in EA I usually grab either 13, 15 or 16 points in dex depending if i plan to take moderately armored at lvl 4 etc (which also gives +1dex)
or just pump charisma to 18. (although you can do this with volos eye and hag hair)

With Githyanki half plate (overpowered) i get 15 ac + 2 from dex + 2 from shield. 19 total on a lvl 4 warlock.
As a drow you can also use the rapier from nere which scales from your finesse.
I made an adamantine shield too.

I somehow ended up making a fiend warlock hexblade-esque hybrid.