Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
D
Doz Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
D
** NB : Using another person/company's IP is illegal - What that other individual/company does in relation to it is different in each case (from allowing it to legal action)

In an effort to not derail individual mod threads, I am making this one to be a central point of discussion for concerns over IP/Copyright issues when using other games as inspiration/direct influence. Please use this thread for discussion (robust as needed) on this issue and post specific examples of individual companies tolerance or otherwise of modding for GENERAL AWARENESS - The purpose of this thread is general awareness so mod makers can make at least a somewhat informed judgement on their mod. Note that I am not a legal professional and be aware that obtaining legal advice and/or approaching the company responsible for the IP is the ONLY definitive way to know how they will react!

Individuals should be aware that by directly recreating a separate game as a mod, the copyright holder of the original game is likely to have legal avenues to pursue. Even if some changes are made there may still be a case for a copyright infringement.

If a company is made aware of a mod using their IP, a range of responses are possible. Cease and desist letters have been issued to mod creators (eg. to the Middle Earth Roleplaying Project mod for Skyrim) while some companies either turn a blind eye or do not mind. (Goldeneye Source, Tristram in Skyrim etc)

A few key points to avoid:
- If you start charging for a mod, it makes the IP/copyright infringement much more serious as you are profiting from it.
- If you are ripping models etc out of a game for use in a mod it can also escalate the stakes.