Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
M
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
M
I can't compare the changes with the new version vs the old, because I was trying hard to hold out on playing until the game was done... I failed. I am weak, and gave in to Alpha temptation.

I've been playing CRPGs for years, and one of the best things about DoS is the ability to do whatever you want and still progress, up to and including killing everyone. That said, I'm still a carebear at heart and most of my runs are are lawful good... though if the Red Prince had not been a companion, I would have let Sebille rip him a new one.

From that perspective, I think that the balance of the game needs work. I'm a veteran gamer, so I chose Classic mode. I expected that I'll need to play carefully, but that intimate knowledge of game mechanics and fore-knowledge of fights, builds, and loot would not be a requirement to progress... I was wrong. I don't think that 'Classic' difficulty accurately reflects the text description of its intended audience.

I played Baldur's Gate, Planescape: Torment, and similar when they were first released, and I was never killed by the first enemy I encountered. The encounters at the start of the game, when someone playing in single player would not be expected to have any companions, are punishingly difficult. I had to kite a zombie I dug up for about 15 turns before I was able to bring him down (I am playing Sebille as a rogue since it fit her character description). And that was the second time, because the first time I just went toe-to-toe and straight out died in two rounds.

There is no in-game explanation of how armor and status effects interact, nor do the initial combat encounters appear to be designed in a way that they highlight important mechanics like status effects.