Page 1 of 2 1 2
#611835 15/09/17 10:12 PM
P
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
P
Hey all!

Now that the tools are out (you can find setup and initial guides here), I'm wondering if anyone is able to make some video tutorials.

I think what we need are:
1) Starting a new project (most likely an adventure, for the sake of going big first, then narrowing down).
2) Basic need-to-know interface and tools rundown.
3) How to edit terrain.
4) How to decorate terrain and place objects.
5) How to place characters, creatures, etc.
6) How to path/script characters/creatures.
7) Other?

I'm new to modding but am very interested. The written guides are losing me a bit, and I think having a video tutorial with spoken step-by-step guidance would be amazingly helpful.

Thank you all and I'm looking forward to what everyone comes up with!

Paintknight #611849 15/09/17 10:26 PM
Oh yeah, that would definitely be handy.

Ghatt #611853 15/09/17 10:34 PM
P
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
P
Originally Posted by Ghatt
Oh yeah, that would definitely be handy.

Yeah, the written guides are a very nice attempt, but seemingly incomplete.

For instance, when you start a new template, it gives you a flat, open space with a basic sand texture. Your initial inclination is that you want to start messing with the terrain. If you select the terrain tool from the top bar, you get this two-column sub-panel in the lower right.

In here, you're supposed to be able to create layers for the terrain (so you could paint basic grass, then paint spots of mud on another layer, spots of dirt on another layer, more grass, etc etc etc). Unfortunately, when you try to create a new terrain, it wants you to select a new terrain type, and then you get hit with this window filled with different file types and you're not quite sure what's what. I can find things that are categorized under terrain, but there's nothing denoting what's a good base, what are normal maps, etc.