Next Thread
Print Thread
#615235 19/09/17 12:54 AM
D
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
D
I am new to Divinity games, but am an old hat at RPGs in general. My personal preference on character death is they either stay dead or whatever is needed to revive them be something relegated to a quest, sideline plot, or even, in extreme circumstances, the endgame.

So when a PC dies, is there a way for the player to "roll a new character" on their own, or even as a workaround, they tell me what new character they want to play and I make it and grant them control?

Or do I need to come up with some weird reason they never truly die?

I'd rather not have to ask everyone to start over, then re-up the survivors' experience and gear manually.

Keep in mind, I have people who would like to play with me, but they are holding off buying the game until we're sure this is the right fit for us. I have not been in a game with other folks yet.

Thanks in advance for any hints, suggestions, etc.

Deadworld #615342 19/09/17 03:40 AM
B
stranger
stranger
B
Good question, one that will effectively need to be modded.

In the mean time you'll just need to ensure that players do not have access to resurrection.

Have them drop out/create a new char and drop back in.

Deadworld #618623 22/09/17 01:24 AM
D
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
D
Well. After some searching, I have discovered that new PCs cannot be added to a game once it has begun. Which means if a PC dies, they're done. The party gets smaller. That's disappointing.

The GM mode functionality that DOES exist for this game is very good (some of the best I have seen), but it's just not quite there for me. I won't be asking my friends to buy copies of the game unless they want to co-op the main story with me or play whatever adventures other folks make with the editor. The game is still very good without GM mode.