Print Thread
J
JRavens Offline OP
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
J
Hi all,

I'm a complete and utter noob with scripting (and have almost zero programming experience to begin with), but wondering if there is a way to call an item's description.

What I'm getting at is to click on a sign and it displays the signs description in floating text. This way the GM could change the description on the fly. This would be useful in quite a few other circumstances as well.

I was looking at DisplayTextOnCharacter.itemScript
Code
INIT
	ITEM:__Me
	EXTERN STRING:%DialogKey = ""

EVENTS

EVENT OnClick
	VARS
		CHARACTER:_Source
	ON
		OnUseItem(_Source,__Me)
	ACTIONS
		IF "!c1&!c2&!c3"
			CharacterIsSummon(_Source)
			CharacterIsPolymorphInteractionDisabled(_Source)
			CharacterIsPartyFollower(_Source)
		THEN
			IF "!c1"
				IsEqual(%DialogKey,"")
			THEN
				DialogStart(_, %DialogKey, _Source)
			ENDIF
		ENDIF

Where DialogKey is defined ( EXTERN STRING:%DialogKey = "" ) - could that be set to an item's description? Any idea how?

Thanks so much! smile

J
JRavens Offline OP
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
J
Actually in retrospect I think DisplayTextOnCharacter.itemScript places the floating text above the character who used the item. I would want the text to float above the object clicked on...

journeyman
journeyman
Hello, Jravens.

You can modify the current script or create a new one.

Change need to be in the line:
DialogStart(_, %DialogKey, _Source)

_Source variable in this line is the Character that clicked on item.

The variable __Me is the variable that is filled on initialization and contains the source item of the script. So if you will change line to:

DialogStart(_, %DialogKey, __Me)

The text will be shown on top of the item.
You need to remember several other "rules".
1) Only use DialogStart call to start Automated Dialogs (those files that have checkbox automated) http://take.ms/CJ1aT. This is quite important to not get stuck in dialog processing.