I hated the Baldur's Gate novelizations. I really do. Not just because the characters were butchered like Luke Skywalker in Star Wars The Last Jedi, and Abdel is as unlikable and unrelatable like Rey (I HATED the way Jaheira is portrayed in the novels!!!), but because the novel made so many creative differences from the games that it hurts its credibility as a "canon" story. Ever since 2013, the time when I started playing Baldur's Gate Enhanced Edition, I've gotten so obsessed with D&D that I've bought the sourcebooks and novels over the years to this day. And I can say without a doubt that the Baldur's Gate games, the original edition and enhanced edition, are more faithful to the D&D lore more so than the novels, and I feel the need to explain why it is an insult to the Baldur's Gate games to claim the novels are canon.

Baldur's Gate 1 Novel Errors

1. In the part of the first novel when Abdel check's Gorion's dead body and finds a letter referring to the Time of Troubles, the letter says that "The Black Lord will spread his seeds during the Avatar Crisis". Bhaal's title is not The Black Lord, that's one of Bane's titles! It disappoints me that the author Philip Athans made this error.