Larian Banner: Baldur's Gate Patch 9
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
Whenever I was playing old Infinity engine games (BG1 and 2, IWD, Torment), as well as new PoE, I would always min-max my main character.

However, Larian's DOS approach was to somewhat disable min-maxing, or make it less desirable when creating builds.

What do you think, should BG3 support min-maxing or not?

(i think it should support because I really liked my BG2 min-max kensai/mage multiclass OP build, and would like to see such interesting combinations back in BG3, dont really care about balancing that much).

veteran
veteran
DnD is unbalanced, many players will min max as hell, power gamers will run through the game like gods while new players will be crushed by almost every enemy.

D:OS2 was just simplistic. Max out your main stat, max out the skills that increase your damage, select equipment that maximises those stats and skills.

I am not a PnP expert so I might run into problems, but I still prefer DnD rules over D:OS2 in every case.
Inflating numbers and completely random items, plus the whole screen was on (cursed) fire or electricity ruined my day, so I never finished D:OS2 even though I was a backer.

Last edited by Madscientist; 14/03/20 11:29 PM.

groovy Prof. Dr. Dr. Mad S. Tist groovy

World leading expert of artificial stupidity.
Because there are too many people who work on artificial intelligence already :hihi:
stranger
stranger
If they're importing the 5e rules as faithfully as possible you'll be able to powergame the absolute shit out of your character. The current edition is about as balanced as D&D can probably get without completely gutting its magic system and making every class too boring and samey, but it's no where near balanced.