Larian Banner: Baldur's Gate Patch 9
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#683356 09/10/20 10:42 AM
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
So I'm not super familiar with D&D. I've played a couple games of it, I have a lot of experience with other tabletop games and I have friends who are way more into D&D than I am, so I have a broad understanding despite my relative lack of experience. But I think something this game needs is a robust tutorial on not just the rules of the game, but how to play well. I think early on, as early as possible, you should get tutorials explaining cleraly what the various classes are good at and what their default role in a party should be. Pillars of Eternity 2 did this by assigning roles to each class and explainign what those roles were; dealing high dps, controlling crowds, etc. And these explanations should be given in clear terms and not jargon. Because as it stands the game is quite tough for me as someone who doesn't have much hands on experience with D&D and for someone who doesn't know the game at all I can only imagine it's much easier to hit pitfalls. I think you should get some kind of description of what each class is good at in character creation, ideally one that's clear but not super detailed so you don't have to absorb too much information all at once, but then when you meet each companion there should be a tutorial window explaining in more detail what their character is good for.

And just on principle as well, there is no excuse for a game to have poor tutorials, so I fully expect Larian to improve on what they have as EA progresses and they hammer down all the systems.

journeyman
journeyman
I don't mean to be a dick here but most of the classes are relatively straightforward unless you literally have never played a party based RPG in your life.

The mechanics behind how everything works and what everything means it what is challenging for a new player.
For example
What is special about a heavy weapon?
What is advantage?