Larian Banner: Baldur's Gate Patch 9
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Macxd Offline OP
apprentice
OP Offline
apprentice
Whats going on with patching on steam? its been trying to install a 500mb patch for over 45 minutes now?

System specs
Ryzen 5600x
Mobo MSI Tmahawk B450 Max
Ram 16GB DDR4 3200
GPU RX 6700 XT Latest drivers
WD 500 NVMe Pci-e 3.0
Windows 11 all updates installed
addict
addict
My experience is that, *after* the download, the hard drive is working 100% installing the bits and pieces within the game files.

So it does not seem to be a Steam issue, but more about a lot of pieces that are inserted within the game. I am not an expert though, but my SSD was running at 100% for a long while.
Took my computer about 45 minutes also.

At least I did not get the infamous reload the entire game issue.

Macxd Offline OP
apprentice
OP Offline
apprentice
Well i don't what was going on, because i started looking into it i saw that my 2TB back up drive which has nothing to with game installs on my PC was running at 100% so i closed doen steam and it stopped. started steam again it started to hammer my HHD again. So i said eff it and uninstalled the game and will do a reinstall later.

System specs
Ryzen 5600x
Ram 16GB DDR4 3200
WD 500 NVMe Pci-e 3.0
T
journeyman
journeyman
T
Same here. Just adding my voice to the masses. Steam patch stuck perpetually at 91%

A
stranger
stranger
A
Agreed. This patch seems a bit odd. "Time Remaining" download on Steam gets to about 4mins and then cycles up and down, even though all 538.9MBs have reportedly been downloaded.
EDIT1: it finished! In approx 4 mins. Then the game crashed when loading up my main save.
EDIT2: crashed again! let's try a new game / new party see what happens...
EDIT3: ok, so new game (under new profile) starts up. So then patch creating save-game load issues?
EDIT4: yes, new game does indeed work / save / etc. w/out issue.

Last edited by aarontastic; 15/10/20 02:48 AM. Reason: Update
apprentice