Larian Banner: Baldur's Gate Patch 9
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
addict
OP Offline
addict
This is my first time ever diving into an Early Access title, so I'm not entirely familiar with the priorities and processes involved from a developer standpoint.
I'm hoping that some of you with enough EA experiences in other games might be able to clue me in on this.

How important is optimization during the EA process? Is it something that's typically worked on incrementally as new patches hit, or is it typically reserved for the end closer to a full release?
I know that there are situations where the minimum and recommended specs for games can come down.
As this is Larian's first crack at the Divinity 4.0 engine, is it safe to assume that things will be ironed out dramatically, or is it more likely that all of the kinks and hiccups on lower-to-mid range systems likely to remain in retail?

Of course I ask because although I clear minimum specs, I'm not quite at recommended specs, and I've had a devil of a time running the game with a decent framerate without dropping every available option to low or lowest.
I can certainly just play the game on low settings, but muddy textures and blatantly visible dot matrices don't exactly do justice to the experience.

Anyone have any solid guesses from their prior Early Access experiences as to how optimization may turn out in the end?

I don't want to fall to bits 'cos of excess existential thought.

veteran
veteran
A whole lot.
For instance if DOS 2 in anything to go by, you could expect the AI to be significantly faster at deciding moves by the end of the development.

Party control in Baldur's Gate 3 is a complete mess that begs to be addressed. SAY NO TO THE TOILET CHAIN
addict
OP Offline
addict
Originally Posted by Tuco
A whole lot.
For instance if DOS 2 in anything to go by, you could expect the AI to be significantly faster at deciding moves by the end of the development.